Homemade Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made these cookies only with yellow cake and peanutbutter instead of the shortining. I also made homemade peanutbutter frosting and put that in the middle. My peanut butter lovers in my family really enjoyed them. They were bit HUGE and too much for the little ones though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccraisins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
everyone at work wanted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echocara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamesport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Delightful! I used a cookie scoop to get consistency in the size. They turn out to be about 2 1/2in. cooked. I put the frosting in a ziplock and piped it on for easy. Tastes like the Oreo cakesters. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I always make several different cookies at Christmas and am always looking for something new. I make my cookies from scratch usually and i think that is why I did not care for the taste of this cookie. I was not impressed with the flavor at all. I used a good devils food cake mix and followed directions. The cookie by itself I felt was horrible. I used cream cheese store bought frosting that I had for the filling and that made the cookies at least edible. I did have a few people tell me they liked them. I have been making and giving cookies away during the holiday for years. ...I was not impressed with the taste of this recipe and will not be making again. I gave two stars because the flavor slightly improved when made into a sandwich cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made these cookies for friends and family along with a lot of other cookies. And everyone raved about them. My little brother who is 5 ate all of them and thats telling you something, because he is the pickiest eater I have ever known in my life. I used butter instead of shortening and they turned out amazing. I made my own frosting (2 8 oz packages of cream cheese, 1/2 cup of butter, 3 cups powdered sugar, and a tsp of vanilla extract) lets just say amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made these for Christmas. I used devils food cake and spice cake. Didn't change the ingredients (not much to change!) I rolled them in 3/4" balls and flattened just a little with a glass. I used whipped cream cheese frosting for the filling. Out of all the different cookies I made, these had the most rave reviews. The spice cake was a bigger hit than the devil foods. But the devils food was also a hit. Soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
very good cookie. They taste like whoopie pies. They are very sweet. I used a can of store bought frosting instead of the cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakemoor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Delicious and easy! I did not have devil's food cake mix so I used triple chocolate fudge cake mix instead and it was very tasty. The cookies seem tough almost hard but they might be my own flawed baking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
4.5 stars! What a great way to use cake mix to make a quick chocolate cookie! They were soft and had good consistancy. They are good that day, but I must say that it decreased in taste in the following days. I just used store frosting and it was an easy way to make the sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
UNBELIEVABLE!!! In my husband's words "this is a joke how good these are"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States