Homemade Chocolate Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I just finished making these cookies: YUM! I mixed the cookies using my food processor-- it took no time at all & no mess! I used 1 pkg of devils food cake & 1 pkg of chocolate fudge cake mix. I cooked the first batch at 350 for 10 minutes & they actually BURNED while sitting on the cookie sheet. So the next round: I turn the oven down to 325 & cooked for 8 minutes & let them sit for 2 minutes on the cookie sheet. This produced PERFECT, moist cookies! I used the whipped DH packaged vanilla frosting. YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Soooo Good! I only made a half batch (only had 1 box), and canned frosting. I made small cookies and put the frosting in a ziploc bag, cut the corner off and put a dab on top of each cookie instead of sandwiches, YUM and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Best cookies ever!!! I make them and in minutes they are gone. Family and friends request them all the time. I also tried butter pecan mix with cream cheese icing....delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Excellent! I made these for a potluck dinner and they disappeared quickly. There were none left to take home. Mine were kind of puffy so as they were cooling I flattened them with a spatula. I used a peanut butter frosting recipe I found on this site for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baraga, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Five stars for ease & taste! So good! I had cake mix and frosting, but cake just wasn't going to cut it. These were SO easy! I halved the recipe, and used a stick of margerine (no butter.. :( )instead of shortening. My cookies baked perfect at 9 minutes - came out so nice and chewy (I was worried they'd be cake-y, but they were perfect). All I had was whipped chocolate frosting, ended up tasting like Little Debbie's Fudge Rounds, but even better! Thanks for this easy recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
awesome, i made them last night, my dad loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
definitely soft, just the way I like it. followed the recipe to a T, without making them sandwiches but added the pecans. Because we love nuts, and the cookies are really soft (almost fluffy because of the cake mix), so I might've added more pecans. Love them! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummimusa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My 2 year old and I went into a sandwich cookie frenzy and tried devil's food, red velvet, and lemon cake mixes. All turned out delicious however, VERY sweet when you add the cream cheese frosting. They were simple enough to make so that I could get my daughter in on the fun but way too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Good recipe, my cookies baked too long and I have to redo them. Bake until they look like they need a few more minutes (underdone). Otherwise once they cool they will be hard and crunchy, I think they are much better soft. Frosting however I am rating seperatly, WAY too gooey for the cookie!!!!!!!!! 1 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I also used one stick of butter, two eggs, and one box of cake mix. Super moist and tasted awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States