Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Pretty straight forward. However, omit the bouillon, and opt for chicken base. Make sure salt is at least the 3rd ingredient. Get this from GFS, or Sams,ect. It makes the difference between too salty and rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The house smells AMAZING and the flavor matches. I Added . . . 1 Tb of dried Lavender flowers (make sure sold for consumption) 4 Garlic cloves 1/4 tsp ground cumin 4 Bay Leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Recipe was great. The only changes I made were to change out the veggies when I was taking the meat off the bone. I added fresh basil, parsley, potatoes, celery, carrots, onions and half a cube of chicken buillon. I also ensured that I strained the broth through a napkin. The result was beautiful broth and great tasting veggies! I also cooked some extra wide noodles on the side and added them when serving the soup. I found that chicken soup tastes better once it has rested for about 30 mins to an hour. My boyfriend and I kept going back for refills all evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this recipe nearly as written, substituting a 2.5lb package of chicken thighs for the whole chicken (because I had them in my freezer already), and it made a perfect, basic soup. I did not add the optional bouillon cubes and found that liberal seasoning with salt/pepper was just right for a flu-stricken palate. I can see using the broth produced by this method as the base for a chicken noodle soup or adding additional herbs and spices to add variety to the traditional chicken soup. I had some cooked brown rice on hand, and found that adding a bit of that to a serving of the soup also worked very well. I will certainly be making this wholesome soup again - from now on it will be my go-to recipe when I need a good chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was a very simple basic recipe. I used leftover of a rotisserie chicken, I added some cabbage, 1 medium potato, fresh cilantro and some noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is wonderful. I add noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I agree with others, that this is a fine basic recipe and needs some added spicing up. For sure, I always like to add ginger...especially if it's during "cold" season. And some cayenne pepper, too, to help it open up the sinuses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Loveless Knox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
With some doctoring this can be great. I added fresh garlic, basil, parsley, and poultry seasoning to my chicken. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was my first time making any kind of soup and it turned out exactly the way I wanted it to. This is a pretty simple recipe. I didn't add any chicken cubes but I added canned chicken broth. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
My 10 year old son could simply not get enough of this meal. I added plain ramen noodles so it was less of a soup and more of a noodle dish. My rating is based on my son's review since any meal that my children rave over is a 5 in my opinion. I added a chilli garlic sauce (prepackaged) to my serving to give it more oomf. I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States