Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I used to make chicken soup for my mom this way! You brought back some good memories. Cut the vegetables big so you can put them back in or use them for something else. You can always add more veggies after straining. Also, for the noodle question, I would cook the noodles separately and add them as you eat, unless you like them mushy. Some brown or wild rice goes right in the pot very well (just give it time to cook). Yummy, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I noticed noodles in the picture, but they aren't listed in the ingredients....anyone know about the "noodle" info?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe makes awesome good soup. My whole family loves it. Sometimes I put it in the crock pot overnight. In the morning, I continue with the recipe and usually will add a bag of Amish egg noodles. Mmm Mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Wonderful flavor. I prepared it exactly as written and I can't imagine changing a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Basic or good?? Some advice: 1. Don't chop chicken parts in small parts: these will surface in water and make for hard skimming. 2. Boil first the meat (16 cups of water), on medium heat: start with cold water for tastier soup, or with warm water for tastier meat. 3. Skim often and add a spoon of cold water to make up for loss. 4. When no more foam, salt (now!) lightly and add cleaned vegetables. Add also a big celery root, quartered and 4 turnips. Bring fast to a boil, then simmer for more than 3 hours. 5. Chop vegetables before serving. Note: always salt while preparing, otherwise the vegetables are not tasty. Adjust taste at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have made this twice now, everyone loves it. All I did was add a little more carrots. I used 5 or 6. Made it for family, froze some and made ti for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Great basic chicken soup recipe. I had never made homemade chicken soup before, and this was a wonderful starting point. One thing I did need was to add more salt as it was pretty bland. I also added a few different veggies because I had them on hand, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
love this soup. I add a chunk of ginger root (scored with a fork) and some fresh dill. YUM! Sometimes I add some pureed squash, cauliflower or sweet potatoes for my pickier eaters. i don't boil the veggies with chicken bone, I like to skim off the fat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was very good! I did make my own stock..Whole chicken covered in water, a leek, whole onion, fresh Tyme, fresh Basil, 2 carrots, celery, salt and pepper corns. Boiled until the meat was tender (hour) then strained the broth..Strain with a cheese cloth if you want clear broth but not needed..(kids and I ate the veggies) Then I followed the recipe minus the onion since I boiled it in the broth and have a little one who won't eat it. I added a few teaspoons of chicken bouillon, salt, pepper then I added wide egg noodles. As I read before the noodles do absorb some of the liquid but mine still had plenty. My kids moaned the whole process saying it smelled so good they couldn't take it. Then when they ate it were raving about how good it was :) love to hear it. Thank you for this recipe!! Very good. Will share this with others and absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States