Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I am an extremely beginner cook and this recipe turned out great for me! I was only making it for myself, so I used a boneless, skinless chicken breast, and I added powdered chicken bouillon, which I found necessary, as the broth alone was a little bland. I added barley on a whim. It tasted wonderful and made it more filling. Definite do again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I agree, this is a basic chicken soup recipe. What I did to customize this recipe, I added 2 envelopes of chicken gravy, to thicken it up a bit, and that extra chicken flavor. Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very good but I added cabbage and a can of canned diced tomatoes. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Made it so much I burned us out on it.. but the time has come again.. LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndianBeauty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent soup! Sick home with a cold - just what the dr. ordered! Added some Romano cheese to it. Also instead of bouillon, added a can of chicken broth.Was out of soup macaroni, so just cut up spaghetti...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I added potatoes and some pasta towards the end. I made the recipe as is only did not use the vegetables that I used in the stock. Instead I sauteed carrots, onions, and chopped celery together and added it to the seasoned stock when I started my soup.I am not a fan of overcooked veggies. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I never made chicken soup before and thought this was a wonderful recipe. I did add additional seasoning such as bay leaf, pepper, oregano and a couple of cubes of bouillon. Just seasoned to taste. I also liked only halving the vegetables. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very simple. My husband loves soup and this recipe was no exception. I added some spices to add some more flavor. Egg noodles add a bit more to it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
this is an excellent recipe for old fashioned chk noodle soup i like homemade broth and using up the carcass its gives its so much flavor. its easy, low maintence and soooo good on a cold day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welder_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I used to make chicken soup for my mom this way! You brought back some good memories. Cut the vegetables big so you can put them back in or use them for something else. You can always add more veggies after straining. Also, for the noodle question, I would cook the noodles separately and add them as you eat, unless you like them mushy. Some brown or wild rice goes right in the pot very well (just give it time to cook). Yummy, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States