Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
For years I have been making very complex chicken soups. However, I wanted a plain, ol' comfort food recipe and this fit the bill completely. I like a little more oomph with my spices so I added a layer of Ruth Ann's Muskego Ave Seasoning from Penzey's and it was awesome!! This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I'd been craving homemade chicken soup for a week. My family loved this recipe. It was bland to me, until I added several spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper Pascal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
| agree with most of the others-good basic recipe which you can tweak to make your own. I added a few whole peeled garlic cloves at the start to make the stock and put in lots of carrots, celery, and onion later. I added boullion as well as some crushed red pepper, Tony's creole seasoning, and parsley near the end of the cooking time and cooked some pasta seperately and added before serving. To change it up, try adding some lemon juice, a dollop of sour cream, fresh grated parmesean cheese, or all three to individual servings. Mmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This recipe met my needs entirely! I have minimal cooking skills, altho I am a pretty GoOd griller. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding cabbage suggested by my wife. She was THRILLED. & I too thought it was quite good. Thanks Allrecipes. U Rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is an excellent base for Chicken soup, I made my first ever batch yesterday. Since I only had fresh Cilantro on hand, I decided to give my soup a Latin flavor and added Cumin, Lime zest, and rice. My wife, who doesn't like soup, raved about this batch, and I was very happy with the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyRob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lapel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Grr..8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I used new veggies afterward, they lost flavor and were too soggy. Great flavors for the recipe I give it a three for the unexpected extra steps I had to take cutting up more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 77-2Babinos
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is a great basic chicken soup recipe, but add some zucchini, squash, and the right spices, and it will be an awesome recipe. Great for cold days....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I added potatoes, dumplings, red pepper flakes & parsley to this soup. The children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did not add the half and half but followed the rest of the recipe. All enjoyed... This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States