Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great and easy recipe. I used fresh vegetables after a broth was ready. And also I added extra seasoning. Overall it was awesome and I hope to recover in no time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a good recipe for a base start. I combined ideas from this recipe and barefoot contessa's. I followed the first recipe by boiling everything together for 1 hour plus I added ginger, a head of garlic and thyme. Then I strained everything, pulled the meat off the chicken and put the chicken and broth back together in the pot on the stove (discarded everything else as it had lost all its flavor and nutrition). In a separate pot I then sauteed garlic then onion, celery and carrots to caramelize a bit and then added them to the broth. I also added a little more fresh parsley, garlic, ginger and thyme to serve. Brought it up to a simmer for a few mins and shut it off. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My family and I absolutely love this soup!!! It's simple and yummy!! The only thing I did different was while I was shredding the chicken and chopping the vegetable I cooked some wide egg noodles in the broth. Must try! Thank you Jill for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Geiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindynkd
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Per the suggestion of another user, I used an already cooked chicken portion, so I bought a rotisserie chicken from the market and used about half for the soup. I did not use any onions or salt and pepper since the chicken was already well cooked, but The rest was true to the recipe with no added ingredients other than the already optional teaspoon of bouillon. The soup was flawless. No noodles needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I never made chicken soup before. This was just what I was looking for,a basic soup recipe. It came out so good. I did add a potato and some different veggies as I do not like celery (I added red/green pepper)but that was all and it came out perfect! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Easy as can be and very tasty. I made a few changes(more types of veggies etc) but for the most part I did as was recommended and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
For years I have been making very complex chicken soups. However, I wanted a plain, ol' comfort food recipe and this fit the bill completely. I like a little more oomph with my spices so I added a layer of Ruth Ann's Muskego Ave Seasoning from Penzey's and it was awesome!! This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I'd been craving homemade chicken soup for a week. My family loved this recipe. It was bland to me, until I added several spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper Pascal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
| agree with most of the others-good basic recipe which you can tweak to make your own. I added a few whole peeled garlic cloves at the start to make the stock and put in lots of carrots, celery, and onion later. I added boullion as well as some crushed red pepper, Tony's creole seasoning, and parsley near the end of the cooking time and cooked some pasta seperately and added before serving. To change it up, try adding some lemon juice, a dollop of sour cream, fresh grated parmesean cheese, or all three to individual servings. Mmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This recipe met my needs entirely! I have minimal cooking skills, altho I am a pretty GoOd griller. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding cabbage suggested by my wife. She was THRILLED. & I too thought it was quite good. Thanks Allrecipes. U Rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States