Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Easy recipe, although I had to doctor it up to give the broth flavor. I added sage, thyme, rosemary, a lot of salt and a few garlic cloves. Then it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Good chicken soup! I did not use the optional bouillon granules, and it came out needing salt, so I added some after straining the broth and it was good. Made it for my husband when he was sick with the flu and he loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was the best chicken soup I have ever had! I will be making this over and over! I did not have a whole chicken in the house so used thighs. My husband raved about how tender and moist the chicken was. Can't wait to make it again and add hearty greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Great basic recipe. Fast and little effort goes into this soup...which comes in handy when you don't feel so great yourself :) I just added a bit of chicken breast (diced), onion, celery, carrots, water and let it simmer. Everyone loves the smell of chicken soup so I let it simmer for 2+ hours. Last I add egg noodles...boil and eat it with crackers. Nothing better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smmace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I first made this soup last month when my husband and I became very sick for days with a stomach flu. We could only keep down ginger ale and crackers. We were getting very hungry so I decided to try this recipe. I pulled chicken breasts from the freezer and just threw it into the pot (frozen) with the celery, carrots and onions. I added chicken bouillon and as I just had a new shipment of Pensey’s spices I also added thyme, oregano, sage and parsley. Before long just the aroma made us both feel better! When cooked I just cut up the chicken and veggies and served. My husband loved it!! Today I am cooking it today (by special request) and after reading some of the reviews I think the only change I’ll make is to discard the vegetables after the broth is made and add fresh veggies before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Easy Peasy and tasted SO SO good. I add Dill and Chicken Broth to mine but otherwise stick to this recipe and you can't go wrong!. Chicken Soup for the Soul!! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great and easy recipe. I used fresh vegetables after a broth was ready. And also I added extra seasoning. Overall it was awesome and I hope to recover in no time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a good recipe for a base start. I combined ideas from this recipe and barefoot contessa's. I followed the first recipe by boiling everything together for 1 hour plus I added ginger, a head of garlic and thyme. Then I strained everything, pulled the meat off the chicken and put the chicken and broth back together in the pot on the stove (discarded everything else as it had lost all its flavor and nutrition). In a separate pot I then sauteed garlic then onion, celery and carrots to caramelize a bit and then added them to the broth. I also added a little more fresh parsley, garlic, ginger and thyme to serve. Brought it up to a simmer for a few mins and shut it off. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My family and I absolutely love this soup!!! It's simple and yummy!! The only thing I did different was while I was shredding the chicken and chopping the vegetable I cooked some wide egg noodles in the broth. Must try! Thank you Jill for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindynkd
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Per the suggestion of another user, I used an already cooked chicken portion, so I bought a rotisserie chicken from the market and used about half for the soup. I did not use any onions or salt and pepper since the chicken was already well cooked, but The rest was true to the recipe with no added ingredients other than the already optional teaspoon of bouillon. The soup was flawless. No noodles needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States