Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was my first stab at a homemade chicken noodle soup and it came out good. I used a roasting chicken as that is all that I had that I had cut into parts before cooking. I didnt use the onions as my 6 yr old is not a fan. At the end of the cooking I added a little bit of College Inn Chicken Broth. It turned out well. Also I added wide egg noodles that I also cooked in the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is basically how I make mine, except I add fresh rosemary stalks and a couple of bay leaves. Sometimes, I add noodles or rice too. Makes for a hearty meal. Thanks! Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This soup was great. I tooke the leftovers and made chicken and gravy. I put this on top of brown rice and served it with biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larronjones1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Simple and tasty. Good when you are feeling under the weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
so incredibly easy. my mother raves this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Delicious and simple. Perfect on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Perfect basic feel-good soup. I used extra broad egg noodle & the family could not get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COBANNERO
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This recipe is very tasty though it is also very basic - which is perfect for the beginner chef. Once you begin to "doctor" your own recipes, you will see that the more flavors you add to chicken broth, the better. For example, why stop with carrots and celery? In addition to these things, I add a potato, tomato, fresh basil, fresh parsley, red peper, onion, etc... Make sure to be generous with the salt as stock can be quite bland unless seasoned appropriately. I even use a couple of bay leaves and a couple of peppercorns during the cooking process. Bring the liquid to a boil, then turn the heat down and simmer. I use a lid on my soup to keep evaporation to a minimim, though I "vent" the lid with a wooden spoon during cooking (kind of props up the lid) so that it isn't completely sealed shut... Add water 1/2 way through cooking if necessary. Boullion is OK, but not necessary if you have the appropriate blend of chicken, veggies and herbs. Serve with rice or your noodle of choice. Never cook noodles in the broth - always in a separate pot because the starch will ruin your soup. The more you times you make this recipe, the more you will enjoy it - as it is definitely a process of trial and error. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
574 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Very good chicken soup. I would say this recipe is for more experienced cooks who have had practice in making their own broth. I had a hard time getting the right flavour, especially since I prefer a stronger flavour, so I like to add chicken broth as well as the bouillon. One thing I would suggest is to use the veggies to flavour the broth, but to put fresh ones in towards the end. If you put them in from the start, they get way too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Delicious! Make sure you use a whole chicken to get the homemade chicken soup flavor and benefits. You'll never go back to the canned version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States