Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
Using a whole chicken is a must-that's where the flavor is! Add noodles or dumplings - yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I wanted a low carb version of chicken soup, so I made this recipe sans noodles/rice. I added fresh mushrooms and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This was so easy and my husband and the kids loved it. I made extra broth by adding more water and chicken boilloun cubes. I also added extra wide egg noodles for a delicous chicken noodle soup. Freeze the extra broth for use later and add noodles. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdhendrick6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This was the first time making Chicken Soup from scratch, and I was surprized at how simple it was. My husband wanted homemade noodles with it so I used Pat's recipe for "Basic Pasta", and it turned out GREAT! We added the noodles to the soup, and let them boil for about 15 minuites, and served. I saved the leftovers, and they tasted even better the second time!!! I also added a bit more water while the chicken was boiling. I will definatly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Excellent! I added a can of cream of chicken soup. I didn't have any bullion cubes. I also put in a bit of tarragon...love the flavor. It turned out most wonderful for a crisp autumn day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Wonderful soup, I cooked the soup w/out carrots & potatoes most of the day, adding them in the last hour. For a little extra taste I added some cumin. The whole family loved it, great for a blustery and rainy day here in the great northwest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Very simple, and also ***very*** good!!! I agree with the review that says to use the whole chicken,thats what makes the yummy broth! also, i added boullion granules to taste, some minced garlic (also to taste), and some poultry seasoning (majoram,tarragon,sage,black pepper) 6 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Pretty good soup. I used a roasted chicken carcass from our previous nights dinner as I feel it adds more flavor then the uncooked chicken. I also used canned chicken broth in lieu of the water, along with my usual seasonings. We're eating a lot of soup these days as it's frigid here in northwest N.J.! Thanks Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
A classic must-have recipe for the home cook! Just a simple, rustic recipe, to which you can adjust the seasonings as you desire (I added fresh sage). Just be careful at the end when removing the carcass from the broth...mine was so tender that it started to fall apart...the giblets, etc. almost fell into broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Your basic chicken soup recipe found in most general cook books. It is the old reliable of chicken soup recipes. I appreciated the hint to cut the carrots, celery and onions in half. I had always cut them up in small pieces, and then when I would drain the broth, it was messy to try to retrieve the cut up veggies to put them back in the broth. This is so much easier! When I drain the broth, I place a paper towel in the sieve. It makes for a nice clear broth. I also cook up some noodles to add to the soup. I do not like to add the noodles directly to the pot of soup, because the noodles will aborb too much of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1851 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States