Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I add peppercorns when beginning the soup. I strain the carrots, celery, onion and peppercorns when chicken is down. I start with fresh carrotts and celery in the broth and add more boulon and chicken broth instead of adding more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was my 1st attempt at chicken soup. I was very happy with the end result. I also altered the recipe. I disregarded the vegetables after cooking the chicken and added fresh ones later. Also added 4 gloves of garlic. I took the advise of another reviewer and added 4 packets of goya chicken bouillon . I added peas also. The house smells like my moms! It's a very windy day here. So, this is a perfect dinner for us tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Excellent! When I think of chicken soup, this is exactly what I have in mind. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Simple ingredents and easy to prepare. Although you dont have to be sick to enjoy it sure helped me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Love the soup, but I find it better with parsnips and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This soup was wonderful I'm a senior citizen and have never made chicken soup from scratch my mother always made everything from scratch. My neighbor is getting out of the hospital tomorrow so I made a pot for her and her husband. My husband rated it 5 stars. Guess that's good enough. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Changes I made to this good basic recipe: Boil 3.5 or 4 LB chicken first (add 1 tablespoon salt after boil begins) and skim the foam until it is almost gone. Then add UN-PEELED, washed veggies (I add 2 quartered onions, 1 parsnip, 6 carrots, 2 celery stalks, and also a large quartered yam) and simmer for about 60 minutes. Remove chicken to plate and take meat off of bones. Return bones and skin to pot with cooked veggies and simmer another 60 minutes. Pour soup into large strainer sitting on bowl big enough to hold soup. Strain again if you wish. Then toss out veggies, bones, skin and return soup to stove and add fresh bite size pieces of carrots. Bring soup to boil and then turn off . Then add some chopped broccoli. Carrots and broccoli will be done in 1/2 hour. Ready to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Pretty straight forward. However, omit the bouillon, and opt for chicken base. Make sure salt is at least the 3rd ingredient. Get this from GFS, or Sams,ect. It makes the difference between too salty and rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The house smells AMAZING and the flavor matches. I Added . . . 1 Tb of dried Lavender flowers (make sure sold for consumption) 4 Garlic cloves 1/4 tsp ground cumin 4 Bay Leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Recipe was great. The only changes I made were to change out the veggies when I was taking the meat off the bone. I added fresh basil, parsley, potatoes, celery, carrots, onions and half a cube of chicken buillon. I also ensured that I strained the broth through a napkin. The result was beautiful broth and great tasting veggies! I also cooked some extra wide noodles on the side and added them when serving the soup. I found that chicken soup tastes better once it has rested for about 30 mins to an hour. My boyfriend and I kept going back for refills all evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States