Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Great basic chicken soup recipe. I had never made homemade chicken soup before, and this was a wonderful starting point. One thing I did need was to add more salt as it was pretty bland. I also added a few different veggies because I had them on hand, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
love this soup. I add a chunk of ginger root (scored with a fork) and some fresh dill. YUM! Sometimes I add some pureed squash, cauliflower or sweet potatoes for my pickier eaters. i don't boil the veggies with chicken bone, I like to skim off the fat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was very good! I did make my own stock..Whole chicken covered in water, a leek, whole onion, fresh Tyme, fresh Basil, 2 carrots, celery, salt and pepper corns. Boiled until the meat was tender (hour) then strained the broth..Strain with a cheese cloth if you want clear broth but not needed..(kids and I ate the veggies) Then I followed the recipe minus the onion since I boiled it in the broth and have a little one who won't eat it. I added a few teaspoons of chicken bouillon, salt, pepper then I added wide egg noodles. As I read before the noodles do absorb some of the liquid but mine still had plenty. My kids moaned the whole process saying it smelled so good they couldn't take it. Then when they ate it were raving about how good it was :) love to hear it. Thank you for this recipe!! Very good. Will share this with others and absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
made this with hens. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piglet32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is definitely the most easiest homemade chicken soup! This soup reminds me of how my grandmother would make it. I did add 2 crushed chicken bouillon cubes and about 30 minutes before it was done, I added some potatoes. YUM! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
So good!! The broth is the best part. I added more chopeed vaggies after I sifted out the bones and a few egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danihesley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I add peppercorns when beginning the soup. I strain the carrots, celery, onion and peppercorns when chicken is down. I start with fresh carrotts and celery in the broth and add more boulon and chicken broth instead of adding more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was my 1st attempt at chicken soup. I was very happy with the end result. I also altered the recipe. I disregarded the vegetables after cooking the chicken and added fresh ones later. Also added 4 gloves of garlic. I took the advise of another reviewer and added 4 packets of goya chicken bouillon . I added peas also. The house smells like my moms! It's a very windy day here. So, this is a perfect dinner for us tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Excellent! When I think of chicken soup, this is exactly what I have in mind. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Simple ingredents and easy to prepare. Although you dont have to be sick to enjoy it sure helped me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States