Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is an excellent base for Chicken soup, I made my first ever batch yesterday. Since I only had fresh Cilantro on hand, I decided to give my soup a Latin flavor and added Cumin, Lime zest, and rice. My wife, who doesn't like soup, raved about this batch, and I was very happy with the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyRob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lapel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Grr..8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I used new veggies afterward, they lost flavor and were too soggy. Great flavors for the recipe I give it a three for the unexpected extra steps I had to take cutting up more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 77-2Babinos
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is a great basic chicken soup recipe, but add some zucchini, squash, and the right spices, and it will be an awesome recipe. Great for cold days....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I added potatoes, dumplings, red pepper flakes & parsley to this soup. The children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did not add the half and half but followed the rest of the recipe. All enjoyed... This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was very good. Incidentally, you have to salt, salt, salt. When the soup was cooking, there was no foam on the top. After refrigerating it, however, I was able to strain some fat that had collected. I did not use any extra broth or bouillon but did add bay leaves, fresh basil, fresh oregano, and garlic to the initial pot. I think it really needs these additions. As recommended, I threw out the cooking vegetables and added some more 20 mins before serving. I cooked some fusilli separately (there weren't any egg noodles at Trader Joe's) and put them in later. However, they still sopped up a ton of broth and ended up a bit swollen. Next time I will add them at the very end. Perhaps egg noodles would have fared better. This would be freaking awesome with some matzoh balls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I liked the recipe, it was easy to make. I used roasted chicken leftovers rather then a raw chicken, thinking it would have more flavor. However, I think the soup needs something but I'm not sure what, a missing spice maybe. Otherwise, it was a good beginning at making homemade soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States