Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I added potatoes, dumplings, red pepper flakes & parsley to this soup. The children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did not add the half and half but followed the rest of the recipe. All enjoyed... This is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was very good. Incidentally, you have to salt, salt, salt. When the soup was cooking, there was no foam on the top. After refrigerating it, however, I was able to strain some fat that had collected. I did not use any extra broth or bouillon but did add bay leaves, fresh basil, fresh oregano, and garlic to the initial pot. I think it really needs these additions. As recommended, I threw out the cooking vegetables and added some more 20 mins before serving. I cooked some fusilli separately (there weren't any egg noodles at Trader Joe's) and put them in later. However, they still sopped up a ton of broth and ended up a bit swollen. Next time I will add them at the very end. Perhaps egg noodles would have fared better. This would be freaking awesome with some matzoh balls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I liked the recipe, it was easy to make. I used roasted chicken leftovers rather then a raw chicken, thinking it would have more flavor. However, I think the soup needs something but I'm not sure what, a missing spice maybe. Otherwise, it was a good beginning at making homemade soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I am an extremely beginner cook and this recipe turned out great for me! I was only making it for myself, so I used a boneless, skinless chicken breast, and I added powdered chicken bouillon, which I found necessary, as the broth alone was a little bland. I added barley on a whim. It tasted wonderful and made it more filling. Definite do again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I agree, this is a basic chicken soup recipe. What I did to customize this recipe, I added 2 envelopes of chicken gravy, to thicken it up a bit, and that extra chicken flavor. Just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very good but I added cabbage and a can of canned diced tomatoes. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Made it so much I burned us out on it.. but the time has come again.. LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndianBeauty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States