Homemade Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Very good, recipe for chicken soup. It's basic enough that you can add your own variations to the recipe. I made it for my boyfriend when he was sick with a nasty cold. (I actually added a bit of cayenne pepper to give it a kick.) He claims it was just what he needed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Nice basic recipe. For a rich color, I cook it with onion skins. Yellow onion skins for a light brown or add red onion skins for a very dark broth. Just discard after straining broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have a question I use water and a on the bone chicken breast to make my broth. I use about 5 cups per breast. I'm seeing so many recipes calling for using chicken broth (canned) I'd like to get more flavor but I really don't want to use a canned broth I feel like I might as well just open a can of Campbells. Also I remember my mother using a soup chicken which was a fatty chicken. I guess those days are gone or where should I be looking? Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I'd suggest adding lots of garlic and cayenne (if sick) and a bouquet garni (thyme, bay, sage, parsley). I also added fresh-grown summer savory just for fun since I had no marjoram. Oregano would work as well. But, I know, you don't want to add too many herbs or the flavors get a little too "complex" or overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bvconway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I made it today for me and my mother. It finished so fast that I couldn't take a photograph and post here.. Well, my brother (staying in up-stairs) came down to have it just because of the smell of the soup.. By the way, the soup is soo tummy filling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Make it simple and satisfy thanks for giving me easy to do my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
My poor roommate was sick with the flu and I decided to make this for him. I'm a beginner cook but this was soooo easy. I took the advice of other reviewers and discarded the soggy, tasteless veg at the end of the cooking time - I tried a bite of celery and it had no flavor left - and added some fresh veg then cooked for another 30 mins. I also added some chicken base. In the end, I think it could use more flavor, perhaps more herbs or something. Maybe more salt, but that's might just be my inexperience. In general, it was just super-easy to make, delicious and perfect for my roommate who loved it. I'll definitely make this again in the future. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Yum! Feel so good after having this when I'm sick! I fried the onions with a little garlic and ginger paste in the beginning - does wonders to the flavor! Also added 2 cubes of chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Easy recipe, although I had to doctor it up to give the broth flavor. I added sage, thyme, rosemary, a lot of salt and a few garlic cloves. Then it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Good chicken soup! I did not use the optional bouillon granules, and it came out needing salt, so I added some after straining the broth and it was good. Made it for my husband when he was sick with the flu and he loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States