Homemade Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Awesome recipe! I used all organic material and the taste was SUPERB (said with a french accent)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m2maverick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I've never bought gravy mixes and have always tried my hand at homemade gravies, but they've never come out this good. I've always used oil and never butter and I think that, that makes all the difference. I didn't use cream, as I did not have it and the gravy was just as good. I did add a little bit of whole milk though. I will definitely use this time and time again. I know it was good because my husband enjoyed it and he is picky, picky, picky!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Excellent easy recipe. I didn't have the cream, added just a touch of milk and a little bit (about a teaspoon) of cornstarch. I also added a few dried parsley flakes and a tiny bit of sage. Just mainly for color and because I was serving it with a sage stuffing. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This was first time I made gravey and I really found this easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Looks soooo good! Will try it......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I made this 2 times already this week. First with leftover chicken from a roast, I used chicken broth instead of drippings & cut the recipe in half. We all loved it & honestly I was never a gravy fan. Today I roasted a 4lb. pork shoulder. I coated the roast with a can of cream of mushroom soup. When cooking was complete the juices measured 2 cups, then Iadded 2 cups of water. I took the advise & cooked the roux for the 12 minutes. OMG, I normally would have eaten the pork plain, it was juicy & so tasty but I ate each bite dipped in Chef John's gravy! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy McFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Mmm, amazing! So good with our roast chicken and mashed potatoes. My gravy wasn't getting thick at a simmer so I increased the heat and brought it to a low boil whisking constantly (this is how my mom does it) until it was thick to my liking, then turned off the heat and added the cream, s/p and cayenne. Thanks so much for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Simply wonderful. Such a rich taste with the perfect texture. Well done! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe was delicious. I used half and half instead of heavy cream because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
OH BOY! This is REAL Chicken Gravy! Don't be afraid to cook your roux - if needs to be cooked slowly to a blonde stage - like Chef John says it will smell like pie crust. Good chicken stock makes a huge difference with this gravy. I did add a pinch of cayenne pepper to the roux along with some white pepper. Then proceeded as directed....taste tasted and added a bit more. Will I make again? You bet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States