Homemade Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
think you'd do better using 1/2 chicken and 1/2 beef stock (Better Than Bullion brand), and also, 1/2 flour, 1/2 cornstarch. Make sure you cook the flour in the butter for at least 5 minutes at medium low heat 'til it starts to brown. Turn up the heat, and slowly add the cold stock mixed with the corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is similar to the old Fanny Farmer chicken pot pie gravy recipe. I add a touch of poultry seasoning to mine and a dash of nutmeg. I then pour it over roughly cubed chicken, drained can of LeSeur peas, carmelized onion pieces and well-cooked sliced carrots. A topping of Bisquick biscuits finishes it off, with a sprinkling of grated parmesan cheese over the biscuits. There usually aren't any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Simple and delicious! I omitted the cream due to food allergies and used homemade stock. I only cooked the roux about 5 minutes. I will use this again! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Did not use the cream. It was great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
It was super easy and tasted divine! I won't tell you what my husband said about it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickiw02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was great! Very good for a base recipe, but I had to add some extra spices for more flavor. I added cooked, cubed chicken breast and served over mashed potatoes, with homemade biscuits on the side. Came out wonderful, and the whole family LOVED this gravy. Definitely saving this one (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a good, basic, well-written recipe for gravy that will appeal to all those who either have never made gravy or who aren’t confident preparing it. I used the drippings from a roasted turkey breast plus enough boxed chicken stock to make up the difference. The cream was a nice addition, something I don’t generally use. I didn’t care for the light color of the gravy, however, particularly since I was using it for sliced roast turkey, but a little dribble of Kitchen Bouquet fixed that right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Very simple and tasty recipe! I use some fresh chopped onions for added texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is good stuff. I did use 1/2 n 1/2 and corn starch, instead of cream and flour. Very smooth with great consistency and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I use this simple recipe as the replacement in any recipe that calls for "cream of" canned soup as a "gravy." (I do NOT use it IN recipes as a replacement...it is not the right consistency for that. I use it just in the recipes that call for thinned soup as a gravy or sauce to an already cooked dish). It is easy and quick to prepare, light, and a wonderful alternative to the processed condensed soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States