Homemade Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Really good, light flavor. I put some onion in my roux, and some bacon drippings in my homemade stock. I mixed it with some cut up chicken and served it over mashed potatoes. Would be great with rice, noodles or biscuits. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillianstavig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is the best gravy I've ever made. I used boxed stock and added some chicken bouillon granules to enhance the flavor even more. I also added a pinch of poultry seasoning. Very velvety texture with no lumps! Thank you so much, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Perfect gravy! Super easy to make and no lumps. I added some dried thyme to the roux and a couple drops of Worcestershire sauce at the end (a tip from one of Chef John's other recipes). Make sure you sample as you go and add salt if it's tasting too "chicken broth-y."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Found this very bland. It definitely needed drippings and/or a blend of savory spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I've been a lacto/ovo vegetarian for 30 years, but lately for some reason I've been having a terrible craving for chicken gravy over biscuits like my grandmother used to make when I was a child. I sometimes make chicken meals for my meat eating family and have never been tempted to eat it. I normally make a version of whatever I'm making for them using vegetable broth instead of chicken, but today I made this and loved every bite of it! I doubled the recipe, using homemade chicken broth (a whole Amish chicken poached with onion, celery, carrot and bay leaf). I cooked it exactly as Chef John advised until it smelled like baked pie crust, about 8 minutes over low heat. I added my broth hot since I had just made it, making sure to whisk vigorously as I added it. It was lump free. I did not add cream or milk since it was so good without it. At the end I added sea salt, freshly ground pepper, and onion powder. I added cut up chicken to half of it and served it over buttermilk baking powder biscuits and my family loved it. I had no desire to eat the chicken but I have to admit that I loved the gravy sans chicken and will use this method to make turkey gravy this Thanksgiving. Thank you, Chef John, I can't believe I ate anything with chicken juices in it but it was worth it, just like I remember my grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was easy and tasty, although I thought it needed a little something to boost the savoriness. I added just a dash of tamari (less salty, thicker, gluten-free soy sauce) and that did the trick. Also didn't have cayenne on hand so I threw in a touch of paprika. I also omitted the heavy cream. This made a LOT of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
So yummy!!! Will never buy gravy again. I did not use heavy cream and I used organic chicken broth because that is what I had. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I made this a few months back and forgot to rate it. Well it gets a five star because it is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this with my own chicken stock and no cream. It was terrific. It was a bit runny with all of the suggested liquid so I simmered it back to a thickness I liked. Poured over chicken and veg and biscuits. Would definitely make it again. I might saute some onions in the butter to start though. Very well explained for a rookie like me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
How do I say yummy with my mouth full. This is an easy recipe that works. My husband has a lactose problem so I switched the butter and milk for less offensive ingredients. Then I made the gravy and added my own little touch. I will make this again, thanks chef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States