Homemade Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I've been a lacto/ovo vegetarian for 30 years, but lately for some reason I've been having a terrible craving for chicken gravy over biscuits like my grandmother used to make when I was a child. I sometimes make chicken meals for my meat eating family and have never been tempted to eat it. I normally make a version of whatever I'm making for them using vegetable broth instead of chicken, but today I made this and loved every bite of it! I doubled the recipe, using homemade chicken broth (a whole Amish chicken poached with onion, celery, carrot and bay leaf). I cooked it exactly as Chef John advised until it smelled like baked pie crust, about 8 minutes over low heat. I added my broth hot since I had just made it, making sure to whisk vigorously as I added it. It was lump free. I did not add cream or milk since it was so good without it. At the end I added sea salt, freshly ground pepper, and onion powder. I added cut up chicken to half of it and served it over buttermilk baking powder biscuits and my family loved it. I had no desire to eat the chicken but I have to admit that I loved the gravy sans chicken and will use this method to make turkey gravy this Thanksgiving. Thank you, Chef John, I can't believe I ate anything with chicken juices in it but it was worth it, just like I remember my grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This was easy and tasty, although I thought it needed a little something to boost the savoriness. I added just a dash of tamari (less salty, thicker, gluten-free soy sauce) and that did the trick. Also didn't have cayenne on hand so I threw in a touch of paprika. I also omitted the heavy cream. This made a LOT of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
So yummy!!! Will never buy gravy again. I did not use heavy cream and I used organic chicken broth because that is what I had. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I made this a few months back and forgot to rate it. Well it gets a five star because it is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats-n-Roses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this with my own chicken stock and no cream. It was terrific. It was a bit runny with all of the suggested liquid so I simmered it back to a thickness I liked. Poured over chicken and veg and biscuits. Would definitely make it again. I might saute some onions in the butter to start though. Very well explained for a rookie like me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
How do I say yummy with my mouth full. This is an easy recipe that works. My husband has a lactose problem so I switched the butter and milk for less offensive ingredients. Then I made the gravy and added my own little touch. I will make this again, thanks chef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was my very first attempt at making gravy from scratch and this recipe is delicious and so easy. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. I will never buy gravy packets again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Made this gravy tonight. The texture is very nice and it has a nice shine to it. However, both my husband and I thought it was somewhat bland and maybe even a little "flour-y" tasting. There was something missing. It needs some zing. Like maybe drippings from the chicken roasting pan?? Does anyone have an answer. It looks like we are the only ones complaining about this. Thanks much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I made this last night. I did not however use the heavy cream in it. I did add some spices for flavor, but overall it was great. This has to be the prettiest gravy I've ever made. No lumps, very smooth texture. Loved the butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
think you'd do better using 1/2 chicken and 1/2 beef stock (Better Than Bullion brand), and also, 1/2 flour, 1/2 cornstarch. Make sure you cook the flour in the butter for at least 5 minutes at medium low heat 'til it starts to brown. Turn up the heat, and slowly add the cold stock mixed with the corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States