Homemade Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was good! Similar to how I usually make my enchiladas, but different enough to be a nice change. I intended to make the recipe as written, and I pretty much did, just a few small changes: I cut back on the cream cheese and monterey jack in the filling to try to trim the fat and calorie numbers; I didn't add anywhere near 15 oz of tomato sauce - I bought an 8 oz can and didn't use the whole thing, it seemed like it was definitely liquidy enough with this small amount and tasted tomato-ey too; I accidentally used basil instead of parsely but it still tasted good; and I can never find canned enchilada sauce and I didn't feel like making a proper one, so I used tomatillo salsa mixed with some sour cream as sauce. Thanks for the recipe! I enjoyed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Made this tonight on a whim. It was yummy! I too reduced the cream cheese to about half and we would probably reduce the chili powder just a bit. I was amazed that the cleanup from the onion, cream cheese, cheese...mix was so easy. I kept the heat around 3 (pretty low). Other than those mods I made it as written. This would be a great dish to make for company. Serve with Spanish rice and refried beans - oh my the guests will be more than satisfied! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Since I was using green enchilada sauce I used a 10 oz. can of diced tomatoes/green chilies (generic Rotel)instead of tomato sauce, just thought it would be a better combo. We really enjoyed these. Took about 25 minutes until it reached a nice golden brown on the edges. Topped with taco fixins for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Good recipe... If I had added rice like Homechef-81 I think it would have made all the difference. I may try Spanish rice next time. I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles instead of green peppers and tomato sauce which added a nice heat. I would also omit the Monterrey Jack cheese in the filling due to the salt it adds to the dish and just use the full amount of cream cheese using more chicken. I used twice the amount of chicken the recipe called for, and it made the consistency of the filling just right....I will try this again with these minor adjustments and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight. I always put my own twist on things and hubby asked that for once I just follow the recipe. Well, I did and it turned out wonderfully! He barely looked up from his plate and I was up, looking for seconds. I do feel that next time I might cut down a bit on the cream cheese. I also put the chicken in the crock pot in the morning. I just shredded it when I got home and followed the recipe from there. Delicious! I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
excellen and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was really good! I cut back on the cream cheese and tomato sauce! The canned sauce I used was too hot but I cooled it down with sour cream!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanon K ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cynthiana, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This dish is really great. Super fast to make, I didn't have Monterey Jack cheese so I used cheddar! My pickiest eater even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
amazing recipe !!! at the end i added 3 cups of cooked rice , mixed it all together, then rolled them into the tortilla. Very filling and left enough for the hubby to take some for lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States