Homemade Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was good! Similar to how I usually make my enchiladas, but different enough to be a nice change. I intended to make the recipe as written, and I pretty much did, just a few small changes: I cut back on the cream cheese and monterey jack in the filling to try to trim the fat and calorie numbers; I didn't add anywhere near 15 oz of tomato sauce - I bought an 8 oz can and didn't use the whole thing, it seemed like it was definitely liquidy enough with this small amount and tasted tomato-ey too; I accidentally used basil instead of parsely but it still tasted good; and I can never find canned enchilada sauce and I didn't feel like making a proper one, so I used tomatillo salsa mixed with some sour cream as sauce. Thanks for the recipe! I enjoyed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Made this tonight on a whim. It was yummy! I too reduced the cream cheese to about half and we would probably reduce the chili powder just a bit. I was amazed that the cleanup from the onion, cream cheese, cheese...mix was so easy. I kept the heat around 3 (pretty low). Other than those mods I made it as written. This would be a great dish to make for company. Serve with Spanish rice and refried beans - oh my the guests will be more than satisfied! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was really good! I cut back on the cream cheese and tomato sauce! The canned sauce I used was too hot but I cooled it down with sour cream!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanon K ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cynthiana, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
excellen and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight. I always put my own twist on things and hubby asked that for once I just follow the recipe. Well, I did and it turned out wonderfully! He barely looked up from his plate and I was up, looking for seconds. I do feel that next time I might cut down a bit on the cream cheese. I also put the chicken in the crock pot in the morning. I just shredded it when I got home and followed the recipe from there. Delicious! I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Was looking great , till I added the tomato sauce----I think 8 oz would of been more than enough and only 1/2 the cream cheese...Too saucy!! I would try again with this adjustments!! Such a bummer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
amazing recipe !!! at the end i added 3 cups of cooked rice , mixed it all together, then rolled them into the tortilla. Very filling and left enough for the hubby to take some for lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This dish is really great. Super fast to make, I didn't have Monterey Jack cheese so I used cheddar! My pickiest eater even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Since I was using green enchilada sauce I used a 10 oz. can of diced tomatoes/green chilies (generic Rotel)instead of tomato sauce, just thought it would be a better combo. We really enjoyed these. Took about 25 minutes until it reached a nice golden brown on the edges. Topped with taco fixins for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States