Homemade Chicken Cacciatore, Sicilian-Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Wow this was amazing! My whole family loved it. I made this in the pressure cooker which infused the flavors and also speed it up enough that I could cook it last minute after work. I tweaked the recipe just a little, like I didn't have any peppers but it was SO good without I won't put them in ever. I used 1 can of regular diced tomatoes & 1 can roasted diced tomatoes because that is what I had on hand. I didn't brown the chicken, and I took the skin off all the pieces except 3 for flavor. (then removed it with the bones) I added beef broth for the extra liquid to pressure cook. I also cooked up 3 slices of bacon, crumbled and added this plus 1 tbsp of the drippings to the recipe. I used egg noodles because again that is all I had. I didn't use any flour, I just added a can of tomato paste at the end. This is an amazing recipe and my family always asks me when I am going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Not so good. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I loved it, but i added 1 cup beef broth, 1 cup chicken broth, a red bell pepper, and a pkg of sliced mushrooms. it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I thought it was really good! I was only cooking for 3 people (2 of which were children) so I only made half the recipe. My kids didn't really like it since they are big fans of dices tomatoes. I think next time I might have to compromise and used tomato sauce so they won't sit there trying to pick the tomatoes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written and it turned out fabulous! My whole family loved this Chicken Cacciatore recipe! I will be adding this into the rotation. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Delish! Took the skin off to save some calories and omitted the flour (I added both cans f tomatoes w/o reserving the liquid) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Loved the way the sauce came out. next time I will take the skin off the chicken since there was way too much fat. otherwise mmmmm. excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Okay recipe, however I like using olive oil vs butter and red bell pepper and a tsp of crushed red pepper. I also prefer to crisp the chicken first by coating in flour and frying in a bit of olive oil until skin is crisp. It also seems to help thicken the sauce. This came out too runny and wasn't spicy enough. I think ill stick to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was very good! I used 4 frozen skinless, boneless chicken breasts. I then followed the recipe with the exception of adding the flour at the end. Very good served over pasta. I would make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Delicious..Wished I made more. Definite addition to menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vmayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States