Homemade Chicken A La King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This was great! I made 1/2 the recipe with a few minor changes. I used fresh mushrooms and frozen peas instead of canned. Instead of celery, I used 1/2 a red bell pepper and replaced the pimentos with 1/2 a jalapeno -- great for those who like a bit more spice -- (sauteed with the other vegetables, not added in at the end). I served it over biscuits ("E-Z Drop Biscuits" from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Very fresh tasting. Used 2 chicken breasts to equal the 2 cups diced chicken (I never like trying to convert cups of chicken--number of breasts is always easier). Also used frozen peas instead of canned for added nutritional value. I would suggest serving this over rice or would be perfect over a puff pastry or as the filling of pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent recipe. It's fast, affordable and tasty. I love healthy recipes and this is one.Thanks Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Nothing horrible about it, just not much good either. Bland. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Husband gave this dish a thumbs-up and took a second helping. Unlike a couple of other reviewers, I did not find this dish lacking in flavor... However, please note: even though I was intending to cut the recipe in half, I used the stated amount of both the cooking sherry and paprika as given in recipe. This was a satisfying recipe. Thx Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Great taste!!!!! I forgot to put in the Sherry and it was still delicious. I'm sure the Sherry would add that something special. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This is one recipe I will not make again. No flavor except peppers. Much too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This was 'OK'. Nothing special. A little bland and it started to look more like a veggie dish than a chicken dish. Next time I'd cut either the green pepper or celery completely out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This was easy and excellent. I used fresh mushrooms and fresh peas in place of the canned ones, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and served it over warm biscuits....excellent! Everyone loved it. I'm sending the recipe to my daughters and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penguin Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States