Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This is a simply delicious granola bar. I omitted the raisins (I like them, kids don't). Am making this one again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This is a great base for a granola recipe. I left out the sunflower and sesame seeds along with the raisin and wheat germ because I didn't have any. But I did add in 1/4 cup of flax seeds and an extra 1/2 cup of oats. Turned out very good, can really smell and taste the peanut butter in them. When pressing mixture into pan make sure you really press firmly that way when you turn them out they won't crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I double the recipe for a cake pan...make sure you use buttered hands and press firmly into the buttered pan. I ad craisins, mini choc. chips, and sliced raisins...also I add a bit more peanut butter. Bake 26min. until edges start to brown. Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura the Potter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Very good bar. Mine were a little sticky, I only baked them 15 min. 20 would probably be just right. I will make them again and play with them a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
i was out of sunflower seeds, but they were great without! so good that my husband ate most of them despite his low-carb diet LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
So yummy! I can't stop eating them! I didn't put the corn syrup in. It's against my beliefs. I just doubled the honey. I also added flax seed instead of sesame and almonds instead of the sunflower and raspberry/chocolate chips. Sooo yummy! I can't wait to make the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
My kids loved these & so did I. The peanut butter gives it a great flavor. I left out the corn syrup and added white chocolate chips. I used maple extract instead of vanilla. They're a little crumbly, but if you let them cool completely before cutting them, they stay together pretty well. I also wrapped them individually for lunch boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I've been trying out recipes for portable breakfasts for my husband, and these are pretty amazing! Surprisingly sweet, too. My alternates: natural sugar-free peanut butter instead of regular, honey instead of corn syrup (ew + bad for your health), no vanilla as I had none on hand, and instead of seeds, added peanuts. I baked them for 18 minutes, and cooled them; however, they weren't firm enough and many in the middle of the pan fell apart, so I'll try baking them and cooling them longer. But for flavour, these are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These are really great. I melted the chocolate and stirred it in so there was chocolate flavor in every bite. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States