Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great bars! I used honey instead of corn syrup and left out the chocolate chips and wheat germ (I didn't have any). I also added some craisins and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I used 100% pure maple syrup instead of corn and omitted raisins. SO good, but don't hold together well since pure maple syrup is so watery. Much better than store bought granola bars, and much cheaper. They're now a "lunch box" staple. Thanks for sharing, Lavone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
so good! They sort of remind me of the store bought "Oatmeal To-Go Bars". I used corn syrup because I ran out of honey and they turned out fantastic. You can substitute raisins with many other fillings. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These were excellent! Even my picky husband and son loved them. I used honey instead of c. syrup, and flaxseed instead of wheat germ. Next time i'll try reducing the sugar and maybe try a butter alternative. They were super sweet and too yummy to resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Being a 'health nut,' I doctored this recipe like a lot of other reviewers. I substituted walnuts for the seeds (mostly because I didn't have the seeds on hand), and substituted dried blueberries & tart dried cherries for the chocolate chips & raisins (1/2 cup total). I also used unsweetened almond butter instead of peanut butter, light olive oil (not to be confused with extra virgin) for the butter, and raw honey for the corn syrup. I felt much better about my ingredient list, and the bars were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were SO good! I was out of brown sugar and substituted white, but it didn't seem to affect them. I didn't add the chocolate either, but they were sweet enough with out them. My 2 year old LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herfordness

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great! I actually substituted chopped peanuts for the sunflower seeds, and left out the raisens. Yummy and the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I just love these granola bars. My 7 year old cant keep her hands off. She loves them that much!! I did add a couple of tbls of pancake syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mother and daughter team
Home Town: Sparland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Finally- a nice granola bar recipe. I did make a lot of substitutions but I think the oats, peanut butter and brown sugar is the perfect base. I used honey instead of corn syrup, and it was fantastic! I think that possibly cooking them down first would help them set better. I used dairy free semi sweet bakers chocolate, sweetened coconut and a mix of pecans and walnuts instead of any other things. They were delicious and my picky husband loves them!. I recently tried them in a 9X13 instead of an 8X8 and I liked the results. A little more crispy. 325 for 20min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Edited: Takes about 20 minutes to make. Tried these with syrup instead of honey/corn syrup. Also, should quadruple this recipe when making it so I'll use 2 9x13 pans because they are good to have on hand.These are so much better than some of the other granola bars on this website. I've tried Granola bars III and Playgroup granola bars and their textures were way off but these are perfect. I used corn syrup but may try honey (for health) another time. The kids love them - I made them last night while everyone was in bed and they are almost gone at 10am this morning.. great recipe, followed it perfectly but added 1/4 c. oats for the flax seed - doubled it in a 9x13 and cooked for 23 minutes. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States