Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These were quick and easy! I too substituted honey for the corn syrup. Instead of using sunflower seeds, raisins, and sesame seeds, (didn't have any around the house) I used a little more than 1/2 cup of a soy energy blend from Costco: toasted soy nuts, almonds, pumpkin seeds, and dried cranberries. Yummm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This should be tried once. Reading the reviews gives you plenty of ideas as to making them super healthy or just like the Chewy brand. I regularly do both since I'm not fully devoted to the different health food lifestyles. But this recipe has the potential to be an one of those things. I did go to a local organic food coop and asked what kinds of mix-ins they could suggest. I now have about 6 months worth of new ways to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delaineyrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I changed this recipes so much that I can't really give it 5 stars but the basics of the recipe were still the same. The taste was yummy and my kids liked them so I guess its a win win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Ching

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Too much butter! I haven't tried a redo yet, but I'm going to cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I really like these bars. I find that flavor improves each day. On the 3rd day they were absolutely delicious. I substituted dried cranberries for the chocolate chips. Next time I will try using honey in the place of the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I have made this several times and adusted it to our taste. They're really, really good and even my kids love them! They are much better than store bought and I know exactly what goes into them. Definitely a new staple snack recipe in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
These turned out great, not too peanut buttery. I added 1/4 cup of egg whites to increase protein and chewyness. I subbed chopped walnuts and pecans for the sunflower seeds and wheat germ. I also subbed honey for the corn syrup. I added semi-sweet chocolate chips. Next time I will add a pinch of salt. Unfortunately, my kids didn't like them, they are very picky, but my husband and I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
So easy, delicious, and simple to tailor to personal tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Didn't like flavor. Bars fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Jaffa, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States