Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
this would be more of a 3 1/2 stars. Its really good, but really sweet. I think I might try less corn syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
These are awesome. I also used honey instead of karo syrup. I didn't add raisins or sesame seeds. I added a little granola to it, and used chunky peanut butter. I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Wonderful taste and texture. I used up some trail mix that was loaded with sunflower seeds that my kids weren't eating. Worked just fine. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ravenyumyum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe and very versatile. I've made it several times with different ingredients. My kids love the cranberry and white chocolate version. I often use dried fruit tid bits and a small amount of mini chocolate chips (just enough to fool the kids). It also works nicely with almond butter, if you don't have/use peanut butter. You can also substitute honey or brown rice syrup for the corn syrup, if you'd like, and cut down on the brown sugar. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vparize
Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I NEVER rate recipes, but had to do my review. These are absolutely wonderful and extremely addicting. I have made these three times following the advice from previous reviews. 1/3 cup of brown sugar, applesauce for sure in the place of butter, 1/3 cup of chocolate chips (plenty sweet) and 1/3 cup of honey verses corn syrup. I bake mine for about 17 minutes. They feel a little soft when straight out of the oven. Once cooled they are perfect. No crumbling, just enough sweetness and the peanut butter makes it divine. I also added some chopped walnuts and raisins. This recipe rocks! A staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Great granola bar base! I cooked the sugar mixture down a little, and this helped them hold together better. I am working on the ratio of sugar to honey(didn't use corn syrup), as these turned out VERY sweet. The sweetness seemed to mellow after a day or two,and the flavor was very good. I will also try this with sunbutter since I have a child with a peanut allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Yum! Might use honey instead of corn syrup next time. Actually I did not use sesame seeds and used old fashioned oats and mini choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
They're a bit too sweet but can't stop having a little nibble every now and then. They are even better the next day. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I just tried this recipe for the first time yesterday, and I made more today (a double batch this time!) I only used the quick-cooking oats and chocolate chips, because that's all I had on hand, but they turned out great! I'd like to try honey on the next batch instead of corn syrup, and maybe some chopped almonds and dried cranberries. So easy to make and have on hand, I love this recipe! UPDATE (5/30/12): I can't even count how many times I've made this recipe (or how many times I've been asked for the recipe), a family favorite for sure! I now use honey instead of the corn syrup and we have not been able to tell a difference in taste or texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I make this one a little differently, by using honey instead of corn syrup, and boiling the wet ingredients, mixing all together and pressing into a pan. Then I cool instead of baking and cut into squares. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States