Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Awesome. I substituted ground flax seed for wheat germ (since I didn't have it) and milk chocolate chips for semi-sweet (bought the wrong thing). I will make this again and again, especially since this lends itself to endless substitution possibilities. I used a large stoneware pan and had to triple the recipe, in case anyone is wondering. All the better for us to have more for giving and freezing. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe. (The consistency was perfect after cooling and cutting when made in my stoneware pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Love these! They freeze and keep well; I always double it. I do let them rest before cutting and wrapping, this helps the bars stay together. I have tried several combinations which is what I like about the recipe. The kids seem to most enjoy white choc. chips, craisins, chopped peanuts or almonds (vs. sunflower kernels), flax (vs. sesame seeds). I use the corn syrup as listed; my daughter has a fructose restricted diet and it is a better choice for her vs. honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Made a few changes in the recipe but it turned out great. I followed the editor's note to let the bars rest (I waited overnight)before wrapping them up and had no problems with them crumbling. Changes: substituted agave syrup for 1/2 of the brown sugar; used old fashioned oats; added cooca powder to the liquid ingredients because didn't have choc. chips; substituted chia seeds for sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Used agave syrup instead of corn syrup and just added whatever I have in my cupboards. I believe pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, chocolate chips, cashews. The agave syrup spread it out while baking but still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I was looking for a substitute for the grocery store granola bars, and this one is better in every way! Just sweet enough and very chewy. I didn't have any butter, so I used oil instead, and I've made several batches of them. I never make them without doubling the batch and baking them in a 9 x 13 pan. No need to try any other recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These, for me, were almost as good as eating a chocolate chip cookie, you know, the not-so-good for you ones! I followed the recipe EXACTLY. Hubby loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These are awesome, my kids love them I can't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Mine kept falling apart and were way too sweet. I had great hopes... I might try it again sense everyone else seemed to have great turn outs. I just crumbled it all up and used it as a topping for ice-cream and yogart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I use this site several times a week and this recipe definitely makes my top 5 list. I made two batches for my husband to take to a running race and the team raved about them. He said they were gone in just a couple minutes. Here is what I did different. I ommitted all seeds/raisens. I replaced the corn syrup with organic honey (choc chips provide plenty of sweetness) and also used natural organic peanut butter. Because of the listed ommissions, the first batch came out a little soft so I added 1/8 cup of additional oats to the second batch which gave a more firm bar. Goodbye Owalla. Hello HM Chewy Gran Bars Thank you Lavone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook Kerri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I strongly recommend following the Editor's note by allowing these bars to cure for a day. Initially I doubted the taste of these bars; but, after waiting another 24 + hours, rave reviews from family and friends, a 2nd taste test by me as well as a 3rd taste test comparing them to high-end commercial granola bars, I came to the conclusion that I never want to buy granola bars again. These bars were a vast improvement in taste, texture, and ingredients. I greatly enjoyed the flexibility of the recipe as well, because I included flax seed, honey, peanuts, dried cranberries, wheat germ, and crispy rice cereal. Thank you for submitting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1GoodCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States