Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
So yummy! I can't stop eating them! I didn't put the corn syrup in. It's against my beliefs. I just doubled the honey. I also added flax seed instead of sesame and almonds instead of the sunflower and raspberry/chocolate chips. Sooo yummy! I can't wait to make the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I use this site several times a week and this recipe definitely makes my top 5 list. I made two batches for my husband to take to a running race and the team raved about them. He said they were gone in just a couple minutes. Here is what I did different. I ommitted all seeds/raisens. I replaced the corn syrup with organic honey (choc chips provide plenty of sweetness) and also used natural organic peanut butter. Because of the listed ommissions, the first batch came out a little soft so I added 1/8 cup of additional oats to the second batch which gave a more firm bar. Goodbye Owalla. Hello HM Chewy Gran Bars Thank you Lavone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook Kerri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This is a great base for a granola recipe. I left out the sunflower and sesame seeds along with the raisin and wheat germ because I didn't have any. But I did add in 1/4 cup of flax seeds and an extra 1/2 cup of oats. Turned out very good, can really smell and taste the peanut butter in them. When pressing mixture into pan make sure you really press firmly that way when you turn them out they won't crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Finally- a nice granola bar recipe. I did make a lot of substitutions but I think the oats, peanut butter and brown sugar is the perfect base. I used honey instead of corn syrup, and it was fantastic! I think that possibly cooking them down first would help them set better. I used dairy free semi sweet bakers chocolate, sweetened coconut and a mix of pecans and walnuts instead of any other things. They were delicious and my picky husband loves them!. I recently tried them in a 9X13 instead of an 8X8 and I liked the results. A little more crispy. 325 for 20min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I double the recipe for a cake pan...make sure you use buttered hands and press firmly into the buttered pan. I ad craisins, mini choc. chips, and sliced raisins...also I add a bit more peanut butter. Bake 26min. until edges start to brown. Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura the Potter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was a great wholesome treat. I followed the directions but added a little more protein by throwing in some chopped walnuts and almonds. Very delicious!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Our favorite (after trying three other granola bar recipes from this site)! Note: I used the corn syrup and had NO problems with crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I really like these bars. I find that flavor improves each day. On the 3rd day they were absolutely delicious. I substituted dried cranberries for the chocolate chips. Next time I will try using honey in the place of the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I've been trying out recipes for portable breakfasts for my husband, and these are pretty amazing! Surprisingly sweet, too. My alternates: natural sugar-free peanut butter instead of regular, honey instead of corn syrup (ew + bad for your health), no vanilla as I had none on hand, and instead of seeds, added peanuts. I baked them for 18 minutes, and cooled them; however, they weren't firm enough and many in the middle of the pan fell apart, so I'll try baking them and cooling them longer. But for flavour, these are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This is a simply delicious granola bar. I omitted the raisins (I like them, kids don't). Am making this one again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States