Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These were awesome! Was searching for a granola bar similar to prepackaged famous name brand so I could modify milk free products for my kid with special dietary needs and these were delicious! Whole family couldn't keep their hands off 'em! Thank you sooooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe is excellent! I took the users advice and substituted honey for corn syrup. I did not have sunflower seeds, so I used raw pepitas (squash seeds). I am not a fan of raisins, so I used dried cherries, which made the bars pleasantly tangy. I also used miniature chocolate chips which gave just enough chocolate flavor in each bite. I used a round flat meat tenderizer tool to tamp the mixture firmly into the pan. I noticed that the mixture was already starting to brown at 15 minutes, and I removed it from the oven even though it did not appear completely set. It set as it cooled. It was crumbly at first because I could not wait for it to be completely cooled before I took a sample. It never had the chance to "season" a day. I would definitely make a double batch next time. I see no reason for me to try other granola bar recipes because this one is ambrosia. Thank you, Lavonne, for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Mine came out tasting more like cookies than granola bars. They are still pretty good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
YUM. More like a cookie than a granola bar, it was certainly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I adjusted these bars just a bit to reflect a healthier eating lifestyle. I doubled the recipe for this, cut the sugar down to 1/4 of a cup, I used Trader Joe's organic chunky peanut butter, homemade sugar free maple syrup instead of corn syrup, applesauce in place of half the butter, dried blueberries and Craisins in place of the raisins (That's what I had on hand, isn't it about using what you have on hand?), and I cut the chocolate chips back to 1/4 cup, just to give the bars a little taste of chocolate. 350* for 20 minutes made a perfect bar. I got 24 organic granola bars for less that two bucks for the whole 24 instead of 4.50 for a box of six pre-packaged organic granola bars at the store. What I do now is just cut them into bars and seperate them into snack bags and freeze them. When I need a couple for my boys' lunch, I just pull a couple out in the morning and throw them in the lunch bag and by lunch, they're thawed out. I still can't believe I bought granola bars when they're so simple it should be illegal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Everyone loved these bars. I made them to take on a beach vacation so I would have healthy snacks for the kids that were easy to pack to take down to the beach. But these were so popular the kids hardly got to have any! Everyone had their fingers in the bag and kept eating them. I guess next year I will have to make several batches! Loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
these were excellent bars, I used craisins instead of raisins & chopped walnuts instead of chocolate chips. Used 1/2 honey, 1/2 corn syrup! I will use this recipe again...it's a keeper! Mahalo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kula, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very good...I used honey rather than corn syrup and used white chocolate chips and slivered almonds instead of sunflower kernels, raisins and sesame seeds...so many variations and the butter, brown sugar, peanut butter and honey make a great base to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was a great recipe, and my kids loved it. They loved them straight out of the oven, and the 2 tiny ones that were left over for the next day tasted even better. I didn't have sunflower seeds, so i took a chance with ground flax meal, toasted wheat germ, whole oats, and chunky peanutbutter, i also added some chocolate chips. These were divine, and I can't wait to try them with some more variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReillyMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States