Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The flavor of these is wonderful. I made them as-is, except for adding about 2 TBS of flaxseed. I baked them about 18 minutes, but they were just a little crumbly after cooling. I will probably make them again, as it's a pretty healthy snack for my two-year old, and quite easy to make. UPDATE-I let these cool an entire day, and they held together well the longer they sat. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I also substituted honey for cornstarch and used the oats, honey, peanut butter mixture as a base and just threw in whatever I had in the house. I followed other reviewers' advice to bake the bars for longer than the 15-20 minutes and they came out hard. Will back for less next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
YUM! My husband, preschooler and I love these. I have made them 4 times in 3 weeks! I use honey instead of corn syrup stir in whatever seeds, nuts, or dried fruit I have on hand. Go easy on the fruit and chocolate though because they are pretty sweet as is. I also sent a batch to my bestie in Afghanistan. Much better than cookies that dry out. These seem to get better over time as another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were great. I made a few changes though: substituted peanuts for the sunflower seeds, used old fashioned oats instead of quick-cooking oats, added craisins (cranberry raisins) and took out the sesame seeds and chocolate chips. I'll be making these again soon, but I think next time I'll double the batch and maybe substitute honey for the corn syrup. Mine did turn out slightly crumbly (may have been due to my premature cutting them). I ended up wrapping them individually and sticking them in the fridge and that held them together really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeevon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Awesome! I use apple sauce and about half the sugar. Great quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I probably shouldn't even rate this becuase I've changed it a lot, but here goes... I love this recipe. I made it nut free and wheat free for my son's class. I left out the sunflowers, sesame seeds, and wheat germ.I replaced the peanut butter with sunflower butter, And instead of all corn syrup, I used about 1 TBSP of corn syrup and the rest honey. Everything else was the same though. When this came out of the oven it was VERY "runny" or "mushy" so I put it in the fridge and it set right up. Next time I make this, I will use less honey and less butter and maybe add in a little applesauce, and some gluten free rice puff cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
made with 1/2 c. white chocolate chips and 1/2 c. raisins (this is what i had). also, i didn't have any corn syrup, so used 1/4 c. water with 1 Tb sugar -- thought it tasted too sweet when raw, but baked up perfect. will use again with whatever i have.... thanks for the versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Soooo yummy! I used chunky peanut butter, 1/4 cup of honey instead of corn syrup, and stirred in some cocoa krispies. I didn't have wheat germ, raisins or sesame seeds, but used some butter toffee sunflower kernals I got at Dollar General. Smooshed it down in a cooking sprayed cookie sheet (could have doubled the recipe) and baked at 325 for 20 minutes, they came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe is SO good and SO easy! We don't keep sunflower kernels, raisins, toasted wheat germ and sesame seeds on hand so I didnt add any of that to it, instead I just doubled the oats. I used two different sizes of oats, one was larger and the other smaller. I previously made this recipe once before using a cake pan, but trying to take them out was very difficult even after 2 hours of cooling and hardening, they crumbled a little and got squished. This time I made triple the amount to be able to cover a cookie sheet that I lined with foil, they came out so much easier and I will be able to flip them over to dry out the bottom (moisture likes to settle and make the bottom squishy). I really like this recipe as you can tell I've made 4 batches of it already in just 2 days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Love this recipe but I changed it out a bit based on what I had available at home. I used brown sugar splenda blend, an eighth cup each molasses and honey instead of corn syrup, left out the seeds and chocolate chips but added a mixture of toasted nuts (pecans, almonds, walnuts) for protein. Since I wasn't sure how badly the granola would stick to a baking pan, even with spray, I used an 8 inch springform pan which worked great. I was able to separate the sides without a problem and used a spatula to gently pull the granola from the bottom of the pan onto wax paper. My husband and I both love the bars and have been taking them for breakfast with some greek yogurt on the side. I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States