Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The flavor of these is wonderful. I made them as-is, except for adding about 2 TBS of flaxseed. I baked them about 18 minutes, but they were just a little crumbly after cooling. I will probably make them again, as it's a pretty healthy snack for my two-year old, and quite easy to make. UPDATE-I let these cool an entire day, and they held together well the longer they sat. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I also substituted honey for cornstarch and used the oats, honey, peanut butter mixture as a base and just threw in whatever I had in the house. I followed other reviewers' advice to bake the bars for longer than the 15-20 minutes and they came out hard. Will back for less next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
YUM! My husband, preschooler and I love these. I have made them 4 times in 3 weeks! I use honey instead of corn syrup stir in whatever seeds, nuts, or dried fruit I have on hand. Go easy on the fruit and chocolate though because they are pretty sweet as is. I also sent a batch to my bestie in Afghanistan. Much better than cookies that dry out. These seem to get better over time as another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were great. I made a few changes though: substituted peanuts for the sunflower seeds, used old fashioned oats instead of quick-cooking oats, added craisins (cranberry raisins) and took out the sesame seeds and chocolate chips. I'll be making these again soon, but I think next time I'll double the batch and maybe substitute honey for the corn syrup. Mine did turn out slightly crumbly (may have been due to my premature cutting them). I ended up wrapping them individually and sticking them in the fridge and that held them together really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeevon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Awesome! I use apple sauce and about half the sugar. Great quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I probably shouldn't even rate this becuase I've changed it a lot, but here goes... I love this recipe. I made it nut free and wheat free for my son's class. I left out the sunflowers, sesame seeds, and wheat germ.I replaced the peanut butter with sunflower butter, And instead of all corn syrup, I used about 1 TBSP of corn syrup and the rest honey. Everything else was the same though. When this came out of the oven it was VERY "runny" or "mushy" so I put it in the fridge and it set right up. Next time I make this, I will use less honey and less butter and maybe add in a little applesauce, and some gluten free rice puff cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
made with 1/2 c. white chocolate chips and 1/2 c. raisins (this is what i had). also, i didn't have any corn syrup, so used 1/4 c. water with 1 Tb sugar -- thought it tasted too sweet when raw, but baked up perfect. will use again with whatever i have.... thanks for the versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Soooo yummy! I used chunky peanut butter, 1/4 cup of honey instead of corn syrup, and stirred in some cocoa krispies. I didn't have wheat germ, raisins or sesame seeds, but used some butter toffee sunflower kernals I got at Dollar General. Smooshed it down in a cooking sprayed cookie sheet (could have doubled the recipe) and baked at 325 for 20 minutes, they came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe is SO good and SO easy! We don't keep sunflower kernels, raisins, toasted wheat germ and sesame seeds on hand so I didnt add any of that to it, instead I just doubled the oats. I used two different sizes of oats, one was larger and the other smaller. I previously made this recipe once before using a cake pan, but trying to take them out was very difficult even after 2 hours of cooling and hardening, they crumbled a little and got squished. This time I made triple the amount to be able to cover a cookie sheet that I lined with foil, they came out so much easier and I will be able to flip them over to dry out the bottom (moisture likes to settle and make the bottom squishy). I really like this recipe as you can tell I've made 4 batches of it already in just 2 days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Love this recipe but I changed it out a bit based on what I had available at home. I used brown sugar splenda blend, an eighth cup each molasses and honey instead of corn syrup, left out the seeds and chocolate chips but added a mixture of toasted nuts (pecans, almonds, walnuts) for protein. Since I wasn't sure how badly the granola would stick to a baking pan, even with spray, I used an 8 inch springform pan which worked great. I was able to separate the sides without a problem and used a spatula to gently pull the granola from the bottom of the pan onto wax paper. My husband and I both love the bars and have been taking them for breakfast with some greek yogurt on the side. I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States