Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Did the old "whatever was in my cupboard" too. Used superchunky peanut butter, no corn syrup (1/8 c molasses, 1/8 c honey), no wheat germ or sesame seeds. Used dried cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
this is a great reicipe. i love it. but i added a little more honry to it to make it stik to gether more amd also i added dried cranberrys wich made it tasts even beter. (phil 4:19-20)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This has been my most-used recipe from this site for the last year. Love it! Started making these as a way to use up those bucket-loads of WIC cereal. I like that it is versatile to suit what I have on hand. I too use honey in place of corn syrup. 11 packs of instant oatmeal makes a double batch. And I use coconut in place of wheat germ, so good! They freeze well, too, just layer wax paper between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Made them as is the first time and they turned out crumbly, I will follow other reviewers suggestions to add more honey and butter. Hubby took these to work and he ate them all, crumbly or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I came in hoping this recipe would be great (2nd one I have tried) and other than being a little sweet it was perfect! Next time I will try reducing the brown sugar next time though because I was going for a "healthy tasting" granola bar. I used sunflower seeds, cranberries, pepitas, sliced almonds and crunchy peanut butter. I used honey in place of the corn syrup and I have a gluten allergy so I did not use any wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made this as close to the written recipe as I could, with what I had available. I did substitute honey for the corn syrup, rice krispies for the sunflower seeds, flax meal for the wheat germ, and used a raisin/cranberry mix of fruits. Then omitted the sesame seeds and the chocolate chips. It certainly tasted really good before being cooked! They are cooling on the rack right now. The only thing I would change is cut down on the brown sugar--it was a bit sweet for my tastes, which is also why I omitted the chocolate chips. The fruit, and the honey, are probably enough sweetness, if you are looking for a healthy snack for you or your kids. I can't wait to play with this recipe again, and try different combinations of additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
These are a great substitute for the store bought variety! My whole family loves them. It is a great starter recipe and fun to explore new add-INS and substitutes. I like almond butter instead of peanut, using some whole oats along with quick oats, and brown rice cereal makes them a less dense. Of course my family loves chocolate chips so I haven't made them without yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These were so good! Ok, I'm going to be one of those annoying reviewers who changed the recipe in 6 different ways, but I used honey instead of corn syrup, coconut oil instead of butter, almonds instead of the sunflower kernels / sesame seeds, Craisins and dates instead of the raisins, omitted the wheat germ (didn't have it), and reduced the chocolate chips to 1/3 cup. After trying them, they're absolutely delicious, but I think next time I'll try reducing the oil and sugar a bit and adding more peanut butter. Also, I think this is a great recipe because you can interchange different nuts and dried fruits, depending on what you like and have on hand. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
As written this recipe is just average. It serves as a good base, but is much improved with just a couple of changes. I made two batches, one following the recipe exactly the next with changes. And the one with changes was much more well received. On the second batch I used crunchy peanut butter, honey in place of the corn syrup and about half the brown sugar. I also used chopped slivered almonds instead of sunflower seeds, and dried cherries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca1810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very good granola base. I subbed applesauce for the butter and honey for the corn syrup. I also added flax seed, walnuts and craisins, eliminated sunflower kernels, sesame seeds and chocolate chips (didn't have them on hand). Deelish! My husband couldn't stay out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States