Homemade Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Decent. I used applsauce in place of butter and honey in place of the corn syrup. Did not add sunflower or sesame seeds or wheat germ. i did add 2 TB of flax seed instead. It turned out a little to heavy on the honey flavor- my fault since that was my own add in- but still soft and chewy. I loved the choc chips in these and will likely used extra next time. Quick and easy and healthy enough with some modifications. They are not so good that you can't stop eatng them but they are tasty enough to enjoy for breakfast or a quick easy grab snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I followed this recipe and my granola bars turned out rock hard. Like chip a tooth hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delish! Left out the peanut butter (so I could send to daycare/ school) and sub'd in extra sunflower seeds and a couple tablespoons of sunflower oil, as well as sub'd graham cracker crumbs for the wheat-germ (just what I had on hand). More like cookies, but kids are in love, so I think it is a good compromise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thea Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
For variety, I substituted the following for the peanut butter: 1/4 cup cocoa powder, 1/8 cup corn syrup, 1 tblsp butter, 1/8 cup powdered sugar, and a bit of brewed coffee. Also added walnuts and dried cherries. Patting down with a spatula after removing from the oven stops any crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yum! I had never made granola bars before trying this recipe, and these are delicious. The only substitution I made was agave nectar for the corn syrup, and as far as I can tell it worked just as well. I'm not judging anyone for using corn syrup and I am sure it is equally delicious as written--I just had agave nectar on hand. I will be making these again and again and I look forward to experimenting with the add-ins (nuts, chips, etc.). Just a note for novice granola bar bakers like me: These take a long time to cool and set. I thought I could make them the morning of a playdate and have them ready in a couple of hours, but they were falling apart when I tried to cut them too early. They are well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreatPyrsRock

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Really really good, make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great but I think I'll do without the raisins next time and add more chocolate chips. Excellent texture and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Chewy, moist, awesome! I can't figure out why some had crunchy granola that fell apart, other than maybe they messed with the recipe too much? It may be tempting to eliminate some of the brown sugar, but, brown sugar does indeed add a lot of moisture. That being said, I may a few changes, in order to use all natural ingredients, that still lead to wonderful, moist granola bars. I used Agave Nectar in place of the corn syrup, added 1 T of ground flax seed, used Ghee butter (natural butter found in the baking aisle at a store like Whole Foods that is a bit healthier than regular butter), and substituted almond butter for the peanut butter (more vitamins in almond butter). I skipped the sunflower kernels, sesame seeds and chocolate chips (recipe is plenty sweet without) and added dried cherries, chopped dried apricots and salted almonds - it was absolutely wonderful! Everyone who tried this loved it and many asked for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Just tried this recipe and I LOVE it! This seems a little more like a dessert than a snack though. The chewy granola bars I get from WalMart are 100 cal each. Im really trying to reach that with this recipe without making the portion size bite size. I did what a lot of others did and substituted the corn syrup for honey and took out a lot of the nuts/seeds (added ground flax-although now I hear ground flax is pointless unless you keep it as a seed? Im not sure). I also added 1/8 cup more oats so it would be a more firm bar. I love the outcome but as I said before its very much like a dessert. I think I just need to keep working with this recipe to make it just right for me. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! Im really excited to be able to make this at home now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel_say
Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very chewy and yummy. used honey instead of caro syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States