Homemade Buttercrunch Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
My grandmother used to always make peanut brittle for Christmas. When she got too old to continue the tradition, my father took over. He passed away last year and I did not have the family brittle recipe to continue the tradition. This toffee is so wonderful. Without the chocolate it is so much like grandmas brittle. With the chocolate, it adds a personal twist as I LOVE chocolate. :) Thank you so much for helping me carry on our family's tradition! My mother says the base of this toffee tastes much better than grandmas brittle, which is quite a compliment as everyone anticipated grandmas brittle come Christmas. This is also really easy and my sister and I had so much fun making this, carrying on the tradition. I'll have to share this recipe with my cousins so they'll be able to carry the tradition too. Imagine the very yummiest peanut brittle ever (or cashew which is waft I used), now add melted Guittard milk chocolate over it. Delish! Guittard is more expensive than Tollhouse morsels but the chocolate flavor is much more intense. Even my husband who is not a big toffee or brittle fan loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I regularly use a different butter crunch recipe with butter not margarine and one must be mindful not to over mix or overheat when trying to caramelize the sugar because the butter will separate from the sugar and the final outcome is not as successful as it could be. As a result, I thought I would try to find a less temper mental recipe and decided to try this one. Since margarine is composed of oil and not milk solids it was difficult to caramelize the sugar because oil has a higher burning point than butter. At 270 degrees the margarine and butter blended well into a new solid but only reached a golden color not a toffee glow that I expected. When tasting the final product, the butter crunch was chewy after the first couple of chews and not a crunchy/brittle melt in your mouth texture that good crunches are. Though the final product looked great I could not achieve what the other reviewers could. Most reviewers said they switched out the margarine with butter. If using margarine I would do what one reviewer suggested and heat the mixture to 290 degrees to eliminate the chew but I do not know if the liquid margarine and sugar remains incorporated at the higher temperature or if the higher temp is the fix. I am too embarrassed to let anyone eat this chewy product. Maybe this recipe depends upon the quality of margarine and maybe each margarine needs to be heated to a different temperature. Too much science to figure out. Just stick with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My family has used this recipe for over 30 years. DO NOT USE MARGARINE!!! It may be cheaper but it's even less healthy (transfats), and tastes like dooky. As far as the recipes using 1/2 c of butter? If you look, they make less candy and the texture is not at all the same. Way too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is deliciously addictive (if made with butter). And as some other reviewers noted, it needs to be heated to at least 290 degrees. I found that at 270 it doesn't get crisp enough to break into pieces - still a bit gooey. With these changes, it deserves at least 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
love this recipe, used butter instead of margarine, boiled to 300 degrees & used peanuts instead of almonds. It was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Beware! This recipe uses twice the fat (margarine in this case) as other recipes for butter crunch. This ratio of sugar:fat was a disaster for me. Wish I'd verified with other recipes first. The other recipes in books and online use butter and only 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe is in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and it has always been a successful one for me! I used butter, though - margarine is a bad idea for this recipe - it won't set up correctly and it will taste weird. I've made many diifferent batches of almond buttercrunch candy and this is the one I've had the best success with. It was perfect and delicious (btw, I did cook it to 300 and it came out the perfect consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
If you like the rich taste of toffee and chocolate, you'll love this. The only changes I made were that I used butter instead of margarine and I cooked it to 290-300 degrees instead of 270 degrees. I roasted my own almonds because I like a deeper flavor. If you have a candy thermometer this is a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This candy is great! It tastes just as good or even better than an expensive one my mother-in-law buys and sends us each year. I don't have a candy thermometer so I cooked it until it turned a light brown color and it was perfect. I THINLY spread the toffee layer on a cookie sheet cause I like a thin toffee layer and lots of chocolate. I used walnuts instead of almonds because that's what we like. I will be making this often. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlpineMt.Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States