Homemade Buttercrunch Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I regularly use a different butter crunch recipe with butter not margarine and one must be mindful not to over mix or overheat when trying to caramelize the sugar because the butter will separate from the sugar and the final outcome is not as successful as it could be. As a result, I thought I would try to find a less temper mental recipe and decided to try this one. Since margarine is composed of oil and not milk solids it was difficult to caramelize the sugar because oil has a higher burning point than butter. At 270 degrees the margarine and butter blended well into a new solid but only reached a golden color not a toffee glow that I expected. When tasting the final product, the butter crunch was chewy after the first couple of chews and not a crunchy/brittle melt in your mouth texture that good crunches are. Though the final product looked great I could not achieve what the other reviewers could. Most reviewers said they switched out the margarine with butter. If using margarine I would do what one reviewer suggested and heat the mixture to 290 degrees to eliminate the chew but I do not know if the liquid margarine and sugar remains incorporated at the higher temperature or if the higher temp is the fix. I am too embarrassed to let anyone eat this chewy product. Maybe this recipe depends upon the quality of margarine and maybe each margarine needs to be heated to a different temperature. Too much science to figure out. Just stick with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My family has used this recipe for over 30 years. DO NOT USE MARGARINE!!! It may be cheaper but it's even less healthy (transfats), and tastes like dooky. As far as the recipes using 1/2 c of butter? If you look, they make less candy and the texture is not at all the same. Way too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is deliciously addictive (if made with butter). And as some other reviewers noted, it needs to be heated to at least 290 degrees. I found that at 270 it doesn't get crisp enough to break into pieces - still a bit gooey. With these changes, it deserves at least 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
love this recipe, used butter instead of margarine, boiled to 300 degrees & used peanuts instead of almonds. It was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Beware! This recipe uses twice the fat (margarine in this case) as other recipes for butter crunch. This ratio of sugar:fat was a disaster for me. Wish I'd verified with other recipes first. The other recipes in books and online use butter and only 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe is in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and it has always been a successful one for me! I used butter, though - margarine is a bad idea for this recipe - it won't set up correctly and it will taste weird. I've made many diifferent batches of almond buttercrunch candy and this is the one I've had the best success with. It was perfect and delicious (btw, I did cook it to 300 and it came out the perfect consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
If you like the rich taste of toffee and chocolate, you'll love this. The only changes I made were that I used butter instead of margarine and I cooked it to 290-300 degrees instead of 270 degrees. I roasted my own almonds because I like a deeper flavor. If you have a candy thermometer this is a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This candy is great! It tastes just as good or even better than an expensive one my mother-in-law buys and sends us each year. I don't have a candy thermometer so I cooked it until it turned a light brown color and it was perfect. I THINLY spread the toffee layer on a cookie sheet cause I like a thin toffee layer and lots of chocolate. I used walnuts instead of almonds because that's what we like. I will be making this often. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlpineMt.Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I don't know if I am oversensitive to after tastes in vegetable oil products, or what...but this candy has a rancid slightly fishy taste to me from the margarine. I pick up this same taste in canola oil too. Is it just me? I am wondering if this candy can be made with real butter instead. I wanted to send this to some soldiers in Iraq...but I can't now. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States