Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I went the lazy route here, and used my Kitchen Aid mixer. The butter tastes great! Also try adding Strawberry Preserves, or Cinnamon & Sugar. They make a yummy butter, and go great over toast or bisquits. For those of you who have never made homemade butter, it takes some time. You will first get whipping cream, and then the cream will start to form chunks. Beat until the butter forms one large chunk, and the butter turns a light yellow. There will be leftover buttermilk, which you can save for later use. IMPORTANT** After draining excess buttermilk off of the butter, rinse the butter in cold water. Get as much of the excess buttermilk off as you can. If you don't do this, the butter will spoil in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I have used the jar method before, but I find that if you pour the cream in a deep bowl, you can use your mixer to beat. I would start out on slow and increase as it thickens. When it goes to whipped cream, I take some out for toppings. When it starts turns into buttermilk, I save it to use on pancakes. Then keep beating until it turns to butter draining all the liquid. Make sure you start out slowly or else it will splash all over. This way is a lot easier and less tiring. Thanks for posting this DD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I've been making this since I was a kid. If you drop something solid into the container like a clothespin, the solids stick to it and it reduce the shaking time. I sometimes add different spices or fruits like applesauce for over french toast or put it in butter moulds to make it fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I think the recipe should have mentioned that after you make the butter, you need to "wash" it to remove all of the butter milk, or it will spoil. My mom taught me to wash butter by draining off the milk liquids, then running COLD water into the jar and pressing the butter with the back of a spoon to release pockets of butter milk trapped inside of the butter. It takes several washings to get it completely clean. If you are eating all of the butter within a short amount of time, washing is not so crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I remember making this as a kid in my second grade class. It is so fun for kids. I remember adding salt like some of the others have said. Also, since it is so hard to shake it that long, here are some tips: If you are using a plastic container, add a marble or two and the process will be a lot faster. If you are using a glass container you can use a marble if you are really careful, but it can break the glass. I have used about 5 clean paperclips instead and it works well in a glass container. Just remember to fish out the marble/paperclips when you have your butter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I'm actually amazed that this worked. I shook it for about 20 minutes, while my husband just stared at me as if I were strange ;) It tasted just like unsalted butter, now I know where to turn if I'm ever in a bind! Thanks DD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Boy did my arms get tired! I gave up and finished it in the Kitchenaid -- I had butter in about 30 seconds! I added a bit of salt and served it with freshly baked biscuits. A great way to use up leftover heavy cream. The kids enjoyed watching it turn from "milk" to butter. I can't believe how it even turns yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
WOW!! This was awesome. Here it is Christmas day and I forgot the CoolWhip, solution; just go to Allrecipes.com and find a recipe for whipped cream. Everyone loved this I will never again by CoolWhip. Thanks again for saving another dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was surprisingly easy. I added a dash of salt. This actually turned yellow, which I thought was cool. Any time I have heavy cream to use up I would definitely do this again. Oh, and to make things really simple, just shake the cream in the unopened container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Perfection! I lazied out and used the KA mixer and it turned out well. Most fun I have ever had with a pint of heavy creme=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States