Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Wow! I was so surprised to see this actually WORKS! It came out very good, the only thing different is that it seems to retain that whipping cream flavor, so its a bit sweeter butter than what I'm used to. Melts the same and everything but I would just use this for toast, bagels, ect as it carries a slightly sweetened taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cycloneusa
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I've done it by hand in a Mason jar, too, but my Magic Bullet is my favorite way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cycloneusa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
So fun to make. I too had some heavy whipping cream that was at its expiration date so thought I might as well give it a try. I used my Kitchen Aide Mixer and put it on medium until it started to thicken and then put on high and let it go. It changed from cream to butter very quickly at the end. I heard the mixer slow down and heard the water splattering. Yup, it was a mess. I had buttermilk all over the cupboards/counter/appliances/etc. Next time I will try it in the food processor or blender. I had almost a full quart of cream and it made about 1 1/2 c. butter and 1 1/2 c. buttermilk. I am going to cook something with the buttermilk also. I just squeezed my butter with my hands to get out all the buttermilk and it turned out great. I will be doing this soon. FUN and MESSY but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
You can do this with younger children, providing fun family traditions in the kitchen. You don't need a blender. Just put your cream in a small jar and place a marble inside, then screw the lid on. Shake the jar until the cream turns into butter. It will probably take up to 20 minutes or more, depending on how hard and vigorously you shake. Butter will begin to form in the center, and then you can just drain the butter milk and scoop the butter out of your jar onto your warm bread! Kids love shaking the butter jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I just made a batch of butter...and am very happy with its taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I have been finding a lot of great home made alternatives on here for products I would normally purchase store bought, and this one hits in the top five of my favorites~ I never would have even thought of doing it if not for the 'recipe' here. One of the many reasons I love AR. It was so easy. I just used my f.p. and then pressed the butter into a cheesecloth lined sieve to extract the buttermilk (which was a pleasant bonus!). It may or may not be economical depending on the cost of your cream versus a pound of butter, but the taste alone is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
awesome! Thats all I have to say
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wopper
Home Town: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Thanks for posting the recipe.. but like other users I thought that there could be a little more instructions and information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I made this last night. I used my Kitchenaid mixer with the whip attachment. I put it on speed 8 for about 15minutes and used a cheesecloth to strain the milk from it. This was a very easy process and delicious, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Wow! So cool to see the transformation! I may not butter again because by making your own,you achieve two things; make your own butter AND make fresh buttermilk that's great for waffles. Both were also very delicious and since I dont like salted butter it's nice that I can make some and know that there's nothing else added into it, just smooth and silky fresh butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States