Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
teehee! Great idea. I whipped whipping cream instead of heavy cream in a food processor. My batch of butter was made for an Oreo frosting that is based on butter, and homemade butter turned out great without an overly-buttery taste. Try my recipe out: 1/2 cup homemade butter; 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar; 1 teaspoon vanilla extract; 5 finely chopped Oreos; 2 tablespoon cream-milk (the excess milk-like liquid produced by making homemade butter); dash salt. Cream all ingredients together on high speed and beat until smooth :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Super easy. The spatula tip made draining the liquid so easy. Pressed it down with a paper towel. I made the mistake of adding the salt at the beginning and it was a little to salty, so I added a couple pinches of sugar and it evened it out nicely. This recipe will put Land-O-Lakes out of business! Yum, Yum, Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I would have given 5 if this included more tips---you gather your butter and squeeze the liquid then put and rinse thru cheesecloth. until water is clear. The Reason for this is the butter will last longer. The liquid is buttermilk and can be saved for pancakes, cornbread, etc. I use organic raw fresh from dairy cream, and even my husband converted to butter after we married. There is no comparison for taste. Tip you can freeze your butter (I have frozen pnds all the time), then take it out a few days before you need it. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I made butter, WOW!!!. At first I thought I had failed because the whip deflated, but I kept beating and the butter seperated. It was an incredible feeling to know I made butter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
What's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I will never by butter from the store again... i even hand whipped it to see how it would be..ty brian it was the best butter ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made this butter last week. It's very good. One quart heavy cream yielded 13oz butter and 2c liquid. I used cheesecloth to strain out the solids and form a ball of butter. Thank you for a good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I have always made this by putting it in a jar and shaking. My way is hard work. Thanks for showing me a faster, easier way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
All I can say is Thank You, and This is Wonderful. *^_^*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a great recipe! It's amazing how heavy cream goes from whipped cream to butter so quickly. Unless you find cheap whipping cream, this may not be cost effective. I paid $2.69 for 1 pint of store brand heavy cream. The way I figure it, every cup of heavy cream gives you 1/4 pound of butter. That means 1 pound is more than $5, which doesn't make sense. If anyone can tell me where I can find reasonably priced heavy cream, I'd appreciate it. Especially if the cream has no hormones, that would be even better. But this is a great recipe, and if I can find cheap cream I'd rather make my own than buy it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States