Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Wonderful and worth the bit of work. Maybe not for everyday. I save the "milk" to make buttermilk biscuits. So yummy with fresh butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beesipea
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Very easy to do...this took longer for me, about 15 minutes in my Kitchenaid. I poured everything through some muslin cloth over a strainer, and then gathered up the ends of the cloth and twisted, wringing out all the liquid. I was left with a nice, neat ball of butter. It was so much more fresh and flavorful than store bought, which just tastes like grease compared to this stuff. It is completely worth it, very little effort to make and a great payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was not even half as easy or delicious as everyone else makes it sound. How disappointing... I'd like to try again, but I'm going to look up a more detailed set of instructions. Some of the comments suggest that a lot more labor needs to go into this than simply squeezing the buttermilk out with a spoon (which only made a mess for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Very easy, and oh so yummy!!! This was a lot of fun to make. I'm going to give this away at Christmas to my neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Save the liquid that comes off the butter! Use it to make buttermilk pancakes or biscuits to go with your fresh butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeann Finley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
We churn butter for holiday dinners using my grandmother's Daisy churn. We have learned along the way. Thoroughly rinsing your butter will make it last longer -- otherwise it gets an off/sour taste. We put our butter in a wide, shallow bowl, pour ice water on it, work the ice water through with a wooden flat spatula and then drain. We continue that process until the drained water is clear. At that point, we work in our salt using the spatula. If you oversalt the butter, just use cold water to rinse until sufficient salt is removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I am so glad I came across this recipe! I never realized how easy it is to make your own butter! I will never buy regular butter again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Barfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pippa Passes, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Hartford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made butter today and yesterday was the LAST time I will ever buy butter. This was sooo easy and the butter tasted great .. btw so did the buttermilk that was strained off the butter when it was done separating. This isn't exactly a recipe it's more of a technique but it's one worth having in your head if not your recipe box. A nice tip for this is to take some saran and wrap it around the top of your bowl connecting it to the mixer to prevent splashes when this does separate as it can get kind of messy after it separates into butter and buttermilk as the buttermilk tends to get thrown out of the bowl by the lump of butter whirling in the bottom ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is so neat! My husband has an intestinal disease, so we make our own butter alot. So cool how it works. We enjoy making it together and it tastes so fresh! Several of my friends are making it now too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsByrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was not only fun to make but delicious too! I made in my KA but it took 20 minutes and not 10. I wrapped some towels around the bowl as it began to splatter when the liquid separated. I drained some liquid off (saved it to make bread with) and continued beating until no more liquid came out. We had some on the Bread Machine Bagels recipe from this site. Simply delicious!***UPDATE*** I find that wrapping the bowl in plastic wrap much better than towels! You can also see through it which is fun for the kids and easy clean up for me! . ****update*** I no longer buy butter. This is too good tasting and easy to whip up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States