Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made butter!! This was so easy. I was amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I Love the taste of homemade butter. Thanks so very much for this recipe. I also found that if I put soured cream in the blender about 3/4 the way full I can make sour cream for baked potatoes. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
SUPER SUPER easy and fast! My kids loved adding the heavy cream and a pinch of salt to the food processor and then watching it turn from a liquid to a solid in about 9 minutes. Once solid, I drained the excess liquid and used a piece of cheese cloth to squeeze out any remaining liquid from the "butter ball". What a wonderful recipe...a recipe you can use in so many other recipes...and it's a super fresh ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
i couldn't believe how easy this was. i just got my first food processor and this was the first thing i made with it. i will never buy stick butter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Now this was neat as can be.... I gathered the 6 of our 9 kids and told them we were doing a "experiment" with buttermilk. They loved watching it form to butter. We then added garlic and salt and made garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: South Fork, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I tried this recipe and it looked just like the picture. Blended it in the food processor but wasn't sure when it was ready since this was my first time(took about 6 minutes). I turned the machine off and on and at the same time drained any liquids. When the cream is wet it sits on the bottom of the processor blending, but when it's done it becomes stiff like butter and gets plastered to the sides of the processor, that's when you know it's done. With the container of butter and your spatula, keep pressing the white liquid (which is the buttermilk)out of the butter, it does take about 5 min to do this. I did a taste test with our favorite high-end store bought butter, couldn't tell the difference. I added a little salt, and since it is so light in color I added a drop of yellow foodcoloring. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I am so impressed with this. It was so easy! While I imagine that I will still buy most of my butter from the grocery store, I will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
So easy to make and the most delicious butter I have ever tasted. Saved me from having to throw out heavy cream left over from ice cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I made this recipe using my stand mixer. I had so much fun watch the cream in its different stages. To make my butter more yellow, I heated 2 grated baby carrots in about 1/2 cup of milk. I heated and stirred till the milk turned bright yellow-orange. Then I strained out the carrots pcs and added the milk to the cream just before mixing. It took about 10-15 min for the butter to come. I pressed and rinsed it well. The butter is absolutely delicious and you can't taste the carrots and it has no artificial coloring to make it a nice yellow color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie monster crunch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
i cant believe how easy this was. i left out the salt, processed for 10 mins, drained in a cheesecloth lined colander w/ a bowl underneath to catch the buttermilk. i let it sit for 5 mins just to make sure i got as much buttermilk drained as possible. saved the buttermilk in a tightly sealed tupperware then rinsed the butter w/ cold water and let it sit for another 5 min. i did open the food processor to see what was going on halfway through but i dont recommend it because it spit some out at me and made a bit of a mess. am planning to use the buttermilk w/ some yogurt to marinade chix in overnight for oven fried chix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States