Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I love homemade butter. I was surprised this recipe did not give any hints for what to do after your done blending - make sure you rinse the buttermilk out of the butter with cold running water, pushing the liquid out with a spatula. Salt should be added after the rinsing. Also, your cream and supplies should be very cold at all times for a good smooth consistency. Use at least 30% milk fat cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
670 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I would give this ten stars if I could! It was sooooo easy, and probably cheaper than buying butter. I had a little carton of heavy cream sitting in my refrigerator, so I decided to see if it would work for me. You can tell it's ready when it goes from being perfectly white and smooth to being yellow with lots of little chunks (like cottage cheese), and there's milk in the food processor. I didn't bother straining it or squishing it with a spoon, I just dumped it all into a bowl and picked up the curds and squeezed the milk out of it with my hands. The milk tastes good, too! And remember you can do just about anything with it, add whatever seasonings and herbs you like and even a little bit of fruit for yummy strawberry butter or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is for Sunny. There are butter presses made to press the excess water out of home-churned butter, but I'm not sure if they're worth the expense. We just take a flat spatula/pancake turner and press out the water. My grandmother (born 1906) actually had to churn the family butter and she taught us to use a spatula. Whatever you use, this is fantastic! I don't add the salt because I always buy unsalted store-bought butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDK999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Homemade butter really is this easy - you can use any electric mixer or even an egg beater if you want to build some muscles. I put the lump of butter in a cheesecloth/muslin then squeeze out the excess buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Wow, pretty darn amazing to watch the transformation! This was my first attempt at making butter and I was kind of surprised that it actually worked! Once done, I rinsed the butter several times and used cheese cloth to strain out the buttermilk. I used my Kitchen Aid stand mixter with the whisk attachment. Also decided to add herbs and spices which I think will be wonderful on Italian bread. Thanks so much Brian!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by countygirl28
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I just finished making this, and let me tell ya, I will not buy real butter at the store anymore!!! I followed the recipe except I didn't have a food processor so I used my Kitchen Aid mixer on speed 8 for about 5-8 minutes...it worked perfectly. I just squeezed the buttermilk out with my hands, it was messy, but didn't take long at all! I will definately be making this over & over & over, well you get the point! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe! I got 1/2 gallon of heavy cream from a neighborhood store for $2.99! (I may go buy the rest of his stock before he realizes he could charge a lot more). I ended up with 2 1/4lbs of butter! Easy, if a little messy. I did find it a little difficult to get all of the liquid out of the butter - would appreciate tips on making this easier. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I had some heavy whipping cream that expired today so I thought I would try it. It was so neat watching the changes - When it was ready I put it in a strainer for a bit - then used paper towels to soak up the rest of the liquid. It turned out Great - Thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Way more stars if it were allowed! When I think of all the money I have wasted buying butter . . . when I could have been making it myself. I used organic heavy cream & this was so easy & super delicious! I am going to make it next time with my kids so they can see the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Can't beat the fresh taste of this compared to commercial butter! This was a beautiful and appropriate addition to our Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States