Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I would give this ten stars if I could! It was sooooo easy, and probably cheaper than buying butter. I had a little carton of heavy cream sitting in my refrigerator, so I decided to see if it would work for me. You can tell it's ready when it goes from being perfectly white and smooth to being yellow with lots of little chunks (like cottage cheese), and there's milk in the food processor. I didn't bother straining it or squishing it with a spoon, I just dumped it all into a bowl and picked up the curds and squeezed the milk out of it with my hands. The milk tastes good, too! And remember you can do just about anything with it, add whatever seasonings and herbs you like and even a little bit of fruit for yummy strawberry butter or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving amnd everyone loved it! the kids had a blast making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This was awesome! I had about half a cup of cream and didn't know how to use it...I'm very glad I found this recipe! I only needed to mix it for about 6 minutes, but I'm sure it wouldn't have hurt it to do more. I added maybe 1/8 tsp. salt, and flavored it with raspberry preserves from Trader Joe's. Very, very tasty on crackers! Only problem was that the moisture in the preserves made it more like a chutney than a butter. Still incredible, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Very yummy and easy too! We are studying through the Little House series and wanted to try to make butter-the easy way! We used the liquid that we pressed out of the butter for buttermilk cornbread. We added 3 drops of yellow food coloring to the cream before we started.What a tasty lesson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I ran out of butter so I made this recipe and I think it was even better than what you can buy at the store. Thank you fo sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
My 5 year old daughter and I had a BLAST making this! Everyone should try it at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThinkTink3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Great trick to know! Now I always have a use for leftover cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
You can also make butter by shaking it in a tightly sealed container, though it takes more time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I've done this many times; it works like a charm and is easy to make flavored butter as well. I use it as is, however, for those who are used to a more yellow appearance, you'll want a drop of yellow food coloring. Most dairies are doing this -- real butter isn't really yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I gotta try this again.....because I did something wrong. I used a blender -and all it did was get foamy? 2/3/09 - I received a kitchenaid mixer for my birthday and wanted to revisit this recipe. I'M SO GLAD I DID!!! I used the kitchenaid on speed 8, used the whisk tool. I stopped it a couple times trying to figure out when it was done.....its done when: it goes from whipped cream consistency to whipped cream gone bad and back to somewhat of a liquid form again. Really, I panicked for a second, thinking I had done something wrong again. Then I tipped the mixing bowl to one side and squeezed as much of the solid chunks to the side of the bowl, it resembled butter! So then I started to squeeze it until the buttermilk was as good as gone, but the buttermilk into a measuring cup and then put cold water into the mixing bowl to rinse the butter. Squeezed some more but this time w/ my hands. (Bonus: my hands are silky soft now!) I put the rinsed butter onto a paper towel while I washed my hands. Then voila! I have homemade butter!!! I did add some salt and then tasted it immediately! I'm going to make it again tomorrow w/ my kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States