Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
We churn butter for holiday dinners using my grandmother's Daisy churn. We have learned along the way. Thoroughly rinsing your butter will make it last longer -- otherwise it gets an off/sour taste. We put our butter in a wide, shallow bowl, pour ice water on it, work the ice water through with a wooden flat spatula and then drain. We continue that process until the drained water is clear. At that point, we work in our salt using the spatula. If you oversalt the butter, just use cold water to rinse until sufficient salt is removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I am so glad I came across this recipe! I never realized how easy it is to make your own butter! I will never buy regular butter again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Barfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pippa Passes, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Hartford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made butter today and yesterday was the LAST time I will ever buy butter. This was sooo easy and the butter tasted great .. btw so did the buttermilk that was strained off the butter when it was done separating. This isn't exactly a recipe it's more of a technique but it's one worth having in your head if not your recipe box. A nice tip for this is to take some saran and wrap it around the top of your bowl connecting it to the mixer to prevent splashes when this does separate as it can get kind of messy after it separates into butter and buttermilk as the buttermilk tends to get thrown out of the bowl by the lump of butter whirling in the bottom ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is so neat! My husband has an intestinal disease, so we make our own butter alot. So cool how it works. We enjoy making it together and it tastes so fresh! Several of my friends are making it now too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsByrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was not only fun to make but delicious too! I made in my KA but it took 20 minutes and not 10. I wrapped some towels around the bowl as it began to splatter when the liquid separated. I drained some liquid off (saved it to make bread with) and continued beating until no more liquid came out. We had some on the Bread Machine Bagels recipe from this site. Simply delicious!***UPDATE*** I find that wrapping the bowl in plastic wrap much better than towels! You can also see through it which is fun for the kids and easy clean up for me! . ****update*** I no longer buy butter. This is too good tasting and easy to whip up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was amazing! I used my kitchen aid mixer and whipped it for around 15 minutes. It was ready when it looked chunky and yellowish. There was also a little bit of milk on the bottom. I then just used my hands to squeeze it and rinsed it every now and then with cold water. I will definitely use a cheese cloth next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
i never knew it was so easy to make butter. i will never buy butter again my family says it is way better than store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Very easy recipe and turned out nicely. I would say that if you don't have a food processor then it takes a little more effort then the details imply but overall really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I used a hand mixer instead of a food processor or blender and I thought I was doing something wrong as it took quite a while (around 25-30 minutes of mixing) until the butter began to separate. I then squeezed the buttermilk out using both my hands and then a spatula, added the salt and mixed, and then rinsed with water. Overall, very easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Winchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
super easy and super good My sister made homemade bread and this was my contribution, I never told how easy it was, so I looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States