Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I removed the liquid by placing the butter on a loosely woven towel - cheese cloth might work also, just layer it a bit. I then just twisted the liquid out. I got great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyAMo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This couldn't be easier to make. I simply added the cream to my food processor and let it do the work. I word of advice, make sure to strain off all of the buttermilk and rinse the butter a few times to make sure the buttermilk is gone. I would recommend using cheesecloth to strain the butter but if that is not available a fine mesh strainer will work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Very simple and yummy. I have also added jack daniels to the butter to put on steaks. Honey for biscuits. Gralic for french bread. The options are endless! Thanks Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I make this all the time. It's wonderful and oh so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This recipe is so simple, yet so yummy. The only thing to be aware of is the time, it didn't take me 10 minutes. More like 30, but I used a standing mixer with a whisk attachment instead of a food processor. I added lots of herbs to make herb butter and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe is cheaper than buying butter if you pour off the liquid and set it to the side to make your own buttermilk...rinse butter as some have stated to keep it from going rancid..the reserved liquid should be measured and put into a jar or container.. add 3 parts regular milk to 1 part reserved liquid and set it on your counter for 24 hours and then refrigerate your fresh made BUTTERMILK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CallaLily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Brian, I am a city girl, I have no need to Make my own butter except for the fact that this was SO COOL to make! Oh Wow! I grabbed a qt of heavy whipping cream, popped the mixing bowl and whip attachment in the freezer for a couple hours and started whipping the cream. Thanks to other reviews, I did wrap a bit of plastic wrap around the top of mixer. Good thing I did. cuz it gets splattery.( word?) About 2/3 of the way through, I was wondering if I was getting the right results, Well about 3 minutes later, I had my answer. BUTTER!! I used the buttermilk to make pancakes the next morning. I rinsed the butter with water in a colander with a spoon. I divided the butter in half to make a sweet compound butter with cinnamon, nutmeg and Splenda. Which I used on the pancakes. The other half of butter, I made a salty,smoked paprika compound that will be terrific on grilled salmon. I may never buy butter Again! Thanks Brian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Wonderful and worth the bit of work. Maybe not for everyday. I save the "milk" to make buttermilk biscuits. So yummy with fresh butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beesipea
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Very easy to do...this took longer for me, about 15 minutes in my Kitchenaid. I poured everything through some muslin cloth over a strainer, and then gathered up the ends of the cloth and twisted, wringing out all the liquid. I was left with a nice, neat ball of butter. It was so much more fresh and flavorful than store bought, which just tastes like grease compared to this stuff. It is completely worth it, very little effort to make and a great payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States