Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
So easy! I used a hand mixer (about 10-15 minutes) and just used my hands to squeeze. My 3 year old loves to help in the kitchen and this was "skill level appropiate" for her age. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was easy and is great tasting. My children and I made homemade bread then the butter. You can do this for thanksgiving and make the butter into shapes for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Homemade butter tastes so good, and it is fun to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat_Fish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I have unleashed the wrath of the butter gods upon my poor little blender! Alas, I put heavy cream into my blender and started it up. After awhile it started thickening up to the point of being unsweetened whipped cream. I kept blending til it went all liquid again, (the liquid got very warm from friction). Then kept blending.. about 45 mins in all. Occasionally i whispered words of encouragement to it and gave it a gentle brush of my fingers here and there but I was still unable to coax even a minute amount of butter out of it. Eventually I gave up and called it a loss. I gave it 3 stars anyways cause it worked for everyone else even though it didnt work for me and im sure it was something i did. The only Heavy Cream i could get ahold of was ultra-pasteurized. Not sure if thats the problem but im using it as an excuse anyways. :) Update: It was the use of my blender that was the problem. I got out my hand mixer and had butter in no time! Creamy, yellow, delicious butter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Ok so this was strange but its how im going to make my butter from now on... I put 2 small cartons of heavy cream in a kitchenaid mixer and beat it on high, covering with a towel to avoid splatter. After about 10 minutes I check and my towel is soaked so I turn it off to find a beater FULL of butter and all the liquid in the bowl! (and all over my counter) so no pressing, just some mopping up! Easy enough for deliciously rich and creamy tasting butter! Ill try with less cream next time and maybe it wont be as messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
It may cost you more to make this based upon the cost of heavy cream in your area. It may be less expensive if you can find real cream from a farmer in your area. Some kids love this project...pour in a jar and let all the kids take turns shaking the jar. Good laughs and builds muscle too. I love this recipe. Anything that I can make at home fresh is great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Wow! I was so surprised to see this actually WORKS! It came out very good, the only thing different is that it seems to retain that whipping cream flavor, so its a bit sweeter butter than what I'm used to. Melts the same and everything but I would just use this for toast, bagels, ect as it carries a slightly sweetened taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cycloneusa
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I've done it by hand in a Mason jar, too, but my Magic Bullet is my favorite way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cycloneusa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
So fun to make. I too had some heavy whipping cream that was at its expiration date so thought I might as well give it a try. I used my Kitchen Aide Mixer and put it on medium until it started to thicken and then put on high and let it go. It changed from cream to butter very quickly at the end. I heard the mixer slow down and heard the water splattering. Yup, it was a mess. I had buttermilk all over the cupboards/counter/appliances/etc. Next time I will try it in the food processor or blender. I had almost a full quart of cream and it made about 1 1/2 c. butter and 1 1/2 c. buttermilk. I am going to cook something with the buttermilk also. I just squeezed my butter with my hands to get out all the buttermilk and it turned out great. I will be doing this soon. FUN and MESSY but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
You can do this with younger children, providing fun family traditions in the kitchen. You don't need a blender. Just put your cream in a small jar and place a marble inside, then screw the lid on. Shake the jar until the cream turns into butter. It will probably take up to 20 minutes or more, depending on how hard and vigorously you shake. Butter will begin to form in the center, and then you can just drain the butter milk and scoop the butter out of your jar onto your warm bread! Kids love shaking the butter jar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States