Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
1st time making butter and it came out YUM-E! I used my beautiful 13 cup Kitchenaid food procesor (christmas/birthday gift) with the multi-task blade and in about 5 minutes the cream had separated. I used a small piece of cheesecloth to strain and impressed my husband. :) (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aloha Jes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I started this in the blender (I don't have a food processer) and when it started to thicken up it was hard to keep it down where the blades were. I ended up scraping it all out of the blender and into a bowl where I finished it with a hand mixer. After all that, it was definately worth the effort! My mom was so impressed and said she hadn't had butter this good since her Grandma used to make butter on the farm. I will definately be making it again (but with the mixer from the start!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was a great way to use up leftover whipping cream. Very easy to make. I had ultrapasteurized cream, but I am curious about how this would work with raw cream. The only downside was that the "buttermilk" didn't past the Husband test, as it was bland, but that may be because of the ultrapasteurization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
So easy! I used a hand mixer (about 10-15 minutes) and just used my hands to squeeze. My 3 year old loves to help in the kitchen and this was "skill level appropiate" for her age. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was easy and is great tasting. My children and I made homemade bread then the butter. You can do this for thanksgiving and make the butter into shapes for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Homemade butter tastes so good, and it is fun to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat_Fish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I have unleashed the wrath of the butter gods upon my poor little blender! Alas, I put heavy cream into my blender and started it up. After awhile it started thickening up to the point of being unsweetened whipped cream. I kept blending til it went all liquid again, (the liquid got very warm from friction). Then kept blending.. about 45 mins in all. Occasionally i whispered words of encouragement to it and gave it a gentle brush of my fingers here and there but I was still unable to coax even a minute amount of butter out of it. Eventually I gave up and called it a loss. I gave it 3 stars anyways cause it worked for everyone else even though it didnt work for me and im sure it was something i did. The only Heavy Cream i could get ahold of was ultra-pasteurized. Not sure if thats the problem but im using it as an excuse anyways. :) Update: It was the use of my blender that was the problem. I got out my hand mixer and had butter in no time! Creamy, yellow, delicious butter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Ok so this was strange but its how im going to make my butter from now on... I put 2 small cartons of heavy cream in a kitchenaid mixer and beat it on high, covering with a towel to avoid splatter. After about 10 minutes I check and my towel is soaked so I turn it off to find a beater FULL of butter and all the liquid in the bowl! (and all over my counter) so no pressing, just some mopping up! Easy enough for deliciously rich and creamy tasting butter! Ill try with less cream next time and maybe it wont be as messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
It may cost you more to make this based upon the cost of heavy cream in your area. It may be less expensive if you can find real cream from a farmer in your area. Some kids love this project...pour in a jar and let all the kids take turns shaking the jar. Good laughs and builds muscle too. I love this recipe. Anything that I can make at home fresh is great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Wow! I was so surprised to see this actually WORKS! It came out very good, the only thing different is that it seems to retain that whipping cream flavor, so its a bit sweeter butter than what I'm used to. Melts the same and everything but I would just use this for toast, bagels, ect as it carries a slightly sweetened taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States