Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
We learned to do this when visiting a local dairy this fall. They put 1/2 a small container of whipping cream into a container with a lid, then passed it around to all the kids to shake, shake, shake. Then we'd open it along the way and see the different textures -- from liquid, to whipped cream, to butter. It's a lot of fun for the kids and makes a great presentation and discussion at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I have made sauces, pie fillings, salsas, you name it in my food processor. By far, that was the coolest thing to ever come out of my food processor! And as a bonus - I never have to buy buttermilk again for the small amount used in german chocolate cake! Just a tip (thanks Alton Brown!) - the salt that is optional will keep your butter from going bad. Unsalted butter needs to be stored in foil to keep it from spoiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I first made butter "accidentally" when I overwhipped heavy cream trying to make whipped cream with my KitchenAid. This time I made it "on purpose" following this recipe LOL. It turned out absolutely delicious, and I will make it often. I look forward to making fresh homemade butter for my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This recipe for homemade butter was not only fast but fabulous too. I followed the other reviews and strained and rinsed the butter. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Yummy! I tried to make this in the blender, but it did not work. It only mixed the bottom bit. So I moved it into a bowl and finished with a hand mixer. I thought it would never separate, but suddenly liquid appeared and only a little while longer and it was done! Next time will have muslin on hand to strain. Although I don't care how yellow my butter looks, the source of the milk determines the color of the butter. So for everyone that says that real butter isn't yellow... Sometimes it is! Mine is exactly the same color as store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. Instead of putting the cream in the blender I decided to put in a mason jar with lid and I shook it for about 45 minutes. That way I didn't have to scrap the butter off the blades in the blender. I took the liquid that I strained out which was about a cup and I added a tbsp of vinegar to it and let it set at room temp. for about 15 minutes and had buttermilk and added it to my pancake mix the next day. Very good! In my opinion I didn't care to drink the buttermilk but it was a nice and cheap alternative to add buttermilk to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreve, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Just made this, can't wait to make bread or something for it to go on tomorrow! 1 pint of cream made 12 tbsp. for me, and yielded about 1 1/2 c. buttermilk. First the cream roughly doubled in size (use a large bowl) then after about 5 minutes of beating reached about whipped cream type consistancy. It remained that way about another five minutes, then quickly went to cottage cheese looking and then super dense and flinging milk all around the bowl...when little splatters went on the counter and I thought the motor would go out on my hand mixer, I knew it was butter, lol. Next time I will have cheesecloth handy, as pushing it around with a spoon to squeeze out excess milk got old fast. Other than that, really really easy to do, and hopefully tastes awesome...but how could it not, it's butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Wow! This was pretty amazing! I used my KitchenAid Mixer on speed 10 and, then, strained the butter through a cheese cloth. Didn't wash it under cold water and it was still great. I mixed it with some fresh tarragon, salt, black pepper, and lemon juice - yummy! Won't be buying much store-made butter anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
very easy and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States