Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. Instead of putting the cream in the blender I decided to put in a mason jar with lid and I shook it for about 45 minutes. That way I didn't have to scrap the butter off the blades in the blender. I took the liquid that I strained out which was about a cup and I added a tbsp of vinegar to it and let it set at room temp. for about 15 minutes and had buttermilk and added it to my pancake mix the next day. Very good! In my opinion I didn't care to drink the buttermilk but it was a nice and cheap alternative to add buttermilk to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreve, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Just made this, can't wait to make bread or something for it to go on tomorrow! 1 pint of cream made 12 tbsp. for me, and yielded about 1 1/2 c. buttermilk. First the cream roughly doubled in size (use a large bowl) then after about 5 minutes of beating reached about whipped cream type consistancy. It remained that way about another five minutes, then quickly went to cottage cheese looking and then super dense and flinging milk all around the bowl...when little splatters went on the counter and I thought the motor would go out on my hand mixer, I knew it was butter, lol. Next time I will have cheesecloth handy, as pushing it around with a spoon to squeeze out excess milk got old fast. Other than that, really really easy to do, and hopefully tastes awesome...but how could it not, it's butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Wow! This was pretty amazing! I used my KitchenAid Mixer on speed 10 and, then, strained the butter through a cheese cloth. Didn't wash it under cold water and it was still great. I mixed it with some fresh tarragon, salt, black pepper, and lemon juice - yummy! Won't be buying much store-made butter anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
very easy and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was super fun and really easy to do. Just make sure to mix in the salt really well......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
WOW! I was a little skeptical about this recipe because I thought that "heavy whipping cream" only made "heavy whipping cream." I learn a lot from this web site about cooking! :) I didn't have cheesecloth, so I used a strainer with a paper towel and pushed the excess milk out with a cup. Kind of a messy way to do it but it worked and now I have homemade butter in my kitchen! Thaks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
i cant believe how easy this was. i left out the salt, processed for 10 mins, drained in a cheesecloth lined colander w/ a bowl underneath to catch the buttermilk. i let it sit for 5 mins just to make sure i got as much buttermilk drained as possible. saved the buttermilk in a tightly sealed tupperware then rinsed the butter w/ cold water and let it sit for another 5 min. i did open the food processor to see what was going on halfway through but i dont recommend it because it spit some out at me and made a bit of a mess. am planning to use the buttermilk w/ some yogurt to marinade chix in overnight for oven fried chix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I made this recipe using my stand mixer. I had so much fun watch the cream in its different stages. To make my butter more yellow, I heated 2 grated baby carrots in about 1/2 cup of milk. I heated and stirred till the milk turned bright yellow-orange. Then I strained out the carrots pcs and added the milk to the cream just before mixing. It took about 10-15 min for the butter to come. I pressed and rinsed it well. The butter is absolutely delicious and you can't taste the carrots and it has no artificial coloring to make it a nice yellow color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie monster crunch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I Love the taste of homemade butter. Thanks so very much for this recipe. I also found that if I put soured cream in the blender about 3/4 the way full I can make sour cream for baked potatoes. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Now this was neat as can be.... I gathered the 6 of our 9 kids and told them we were doing a "experiment" with buttermilk. They loved watching it form to butter. We then added garlic and salt and made garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: South Fork, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States