Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I have to say... I feel kinda silly for being so proud of myself for doing something SO simple!! I made butter! It really does taste better than store bought, and yes, it melts into your toast just like "real" butter, lol Store bought butter can sometimes have a rancid taste to me, but this is smooth and creamy. I was a little afraid to rinse my treasure with water, (as instructed by reviews) but it beaded off just like it should and came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This recipe was AMAZING!!!! I would recomend this to anyone!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
AMAZING!! I can't believe I've been wasting so much $$ on store bought butter. The first batch I used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and 3 dashes of salt. my hubby said it needs more. The 2nd batch I used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream, 1/4 tsp of salt, 3 tbsp brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon which made an amazing topping for toast, pancakes, waffles, grilled P B & J! ... you name it!!! I'm still in awww over this :) THANK YOU All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Bane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Loved this recipe, the draw back was liquid flying everwhere. I threw a dish towel over the mixer and it worked out fine. Will make again, the butter has a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
What a cool way to use up leftover heavy cream! Used my food processor and it turned into butter in no time. My only tip would be to make sure that the cloth you use to strain the butter does not have any LINT on it! Oh well, mistakes happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I had no idea that butter was this easy to make. When finished, I spread it into candy snow-flake molds to make individual size portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was fun to make, and tasted great! Added some honey once it started looking curdled. Before I knew it, milk was shooting out of my mixer, and I had honey butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
We learned to do this when visiting a local dairy this fall. They put 1/2 a small container of whipping cream into a container with a lid, then passed it around to all the kids to shake, shake, shake. Then we'd open it along the way and see the different textures -- from liquid, to whipped cream, to butter. It's a lot of fun for the kids and makes a great presentation and discussion at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I have made sauces, pie fillings, salsas, you name it in my food processor. By far, that was the coolest thing to ever come out of my food processor! And as a bonus - I never have to buy buttermilk again for the small amount used in german chocolate cake! Just a tip (thanks Alton Brown!) - the salt that is optional will keep your butter from going bad. Unsalted butter needs to be stored in foil to keep it from spoiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States