Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Absolutely perfect! Very easy to make. Used my stand mixer on 8 and it took start to finish 20 minutes TOPS. Very economical as well:D Try it and you'll be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is so simple, but so delicious. I homeschool my son, and for science, one of our experiments was to make butter using heavy cream by putting the cream into a clean glass jar with lid, and shaking it until it became butter. It tastes so good! However, I did NOT have luck using my blender. A mixer or food processor is really necessary for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Worked out Great!! I used whipping cream in the food processer (I chilled the blade first). Processed for about 8 minutes, strained off the buttermilk and mashed into a plastic container. Delicious!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I feel a little silly rating something as simple as buter with five stars, but this butter is as good as it gets. I used my kitchenaid mixer with the whisk attachment and ran it on high until it went from the whipped back into the liquid phase. I had to turn it down when it became liquid again because it splattered everywhere. I ran the mixer until it was solid- my butter attached itself to the whisk, and then I poured out the buttermilk that was left remaining in the bowl. I followed others' suggestion to squeeze it with the cheesecloth, spatula, etc but there was no liquid left in my butter to drain. I didn't rinse the butter because I forgot to, and it was still great- not sure why some said that was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Love it. Never fails to make good butter. Really easy and fast. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I loooooove this!!! tried it and didn't take long to make and after adding it to our old fashioned popped popcorn, it was AWESOME, I will not use anything else bit this from now on!! Thanks for the reciepe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Oh great goodness, YES!!! Insanely easy and good. Nothing beats telling folks, "The butter is homemade, too."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
We use this recipe ALL the time and it's the best! We add a little fresh minced garlic for garlic bread or omit the salt and a little sugar and cinnamon. You can play with it by adding almost anything. My favorite is adding about 1 tablespoon of honey at the very end of the whipping time and spreading it on pancakes, YUM YUM. My husband likes to add honey and grated orange rind, which is also very good on pancakes, toast or any type of muffin or bread. The skies the limit with this recipe. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICURN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was fun to make in my Kitchenaid. It worked out very well. I did do a cost comparison between making it with cream versus buying packaged butter. It cost me $2 for a pint of cream and I got one cup out of it. Packaged butter is running about $2.25 right now and I get 2 cups of butter from it. SO, packaged butter is less expensive by about half, but making the butter is fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
As written, the recipe doesn't contain all of the information you need to make butter. I used KA mixer with whisk attachment (since you really make whipped cream first then continue beating). On speed setting 8 (highest speed) takes between 15-20 minutes. Follow other's advice to either use cheese cloth to strain out excess liquid or use a strainer. Adding salt is NOT necessary (without salt you will have unsalted butter). Very important to compress the butter that results or it very watery, even so, you can't compress it as tightly as done when butter is processed commercially. The result can't be used for baking since it won't measure the same as butter you buy in the store, but good for sauteeing or spreading on toast where measureing is not required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States