Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Oh great goodness, YES!!! Insanely easy and good. Nothing beats telling folks, "The butter is homemade, too."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
We use this recipe ALL the time and it's the best! We add a little fresh minced garlic for garlic bread or omit the salt and a little sugar and cinnamon. You can play with it by adding almost anything. My favorite is adding about 1 tablespoon of honey at the very end of the whipping time and spreading it on pancakes, YUM YUM. My husband likes to add honey and grated orange rind, which is also very good on pancakes, toast or any type of muffin or bread. The skies the limit with this recipe. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICURN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was fun to make in my Kitchenaid. It worked out very well. I did do a cost comparison between making it with cream versus buying packaged butter. It cost me $2 for a pint of cream and I got one cup out of it. Packaged butter is running about $2.25 right now and I get 2 cups of butter from it. SO, packaged butter is less expensive by about half, but making the butter is fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
As written, the recipe doesn't contain all of the information you need to make butter. I used KA mixer with whisk attachment (since you really make whipped cream first then continue beating). On speed setting 8 (highest speed) takes between 15-20 minutes. Follow other's advice to either use cheese cloth to strain out excess liquid or use a strainer. Adding salt is NOT necessary (without salt you will have unsalted butter). Very important to compress the butter that results or it very watery, even so, you can't compress it as tightly as done when butter is processed commercially. The result can't be used for baking since it won't measure the same as butter you buy in the store, but good for sauteeing or spreading on toast where measureing is not required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I used the whisk attachment on my stand mixer. I wasn't sure if it would work, but it did. This is the best tasting butter I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
omg!!! At first the cream just formed the typical "whipped cream" peaks....and I got discouraged. But then I simply stirred the cream in the blender with a spoon and resumed the blend function. About 5 minutes later it became watery/globule-like and eventually formed into a block of butter! It's been hard to eat anything but bread and butter all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Oh, I wish I could give this 100 stars!! I am so thrilled with this recipe!! I made it in my Kitchen Aid mixer. Beat on 8 for 8 minutes. I added the salt as it was mixing. I gathered up the butter from the milk as best I could, then lined my strainer with cheese cloth and squeezed out the rest of the milk. It was super simple. The whole process took less them 20 minutes including clean up. I will never buy butter again. The recipe makes about a pound of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Lots of work and not any better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Blender no. Food processor yes. Tasted excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I remember making this as a kid using a jar. Now that I'm all grown up, I decided to cheat and use the Kitchen Aid. I kept mixing and mixing and mixing and nothing happened, but all of a sudden, the liquid separated from the cream and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States