Homemade Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
We make butter every year for Thanksgiving with my grandma's butter churn-tradition. Never used a food processor. Definitely rinse with cold water when it's done so you get the buttermilk out. A spatula works fine for that, and my mom likes to use cheesecloth to press the liquid out. We season it with salt after that and other seasonings sometimes. The Garlic Butter recipe on this website is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Thank you for the recipe!!! I needed unsalted butter for a recipe and had started mixing before I realized I was out. I live in a remote area and takes me over an hour to get to a store. After thinking about it for awhile I remember making butter in school, which was over fourty years ago, but couldn't remember the process. Looked on the web and found this one... WORKED JUST AS I REMEMBERED, PERFECT!!! Thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpackingrandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Perfect recipe thank you, I made a test batch as I wanted to try before Thanksgiving and I had my 11 year old son help me and it turned out fantastic and my son was amazed at the process. Thank you for a great recipe and a great homemade addition to our Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammyscooking03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Very easy and simple. I added some honey and a hint of sugar and cinnimon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onehottmama22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I feel somehow as if we've all out-Deened Ms. Paula with this one. What's better than cooking with butter? MAKING butter. Also, I feel so homestead-y... like maybe I need to reread Little House on the Prairie. Uh, can you tell I've enjoyed this recipe? Right up until buttermilk splashed all OVER the place in my kitchen, but that's my fault for walking away right as the butter and liquids were about to break. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I never knew it was so simple and easy to make homemade butter. I used the wire whisk attachment on my hand mixer. I used just one cup heavy cream and it took less than 10 minutes. I used the butter to make garlic bread fantastique, also from this site. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I'm new to the whole cooking scene, and I think I made this more difficult than it needed to be. I had to leave it on the blender for longer then 10 minutes, but it turned out great. We tasted it after it had been chilled and decided it needed more taste so I melted it partly and added honey. Taste faboos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F Campbell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Photo by ShopCook
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
DE-LIC-IOUS!! I made it without the salt. Hubby recommended that I use salt next time since he is a salt lover. I really don't think it needs it. Better for baking that way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
So easy and fun! When I was a child in school, the teacher poured cream into an empty cool whip container. She sealed the lid and handed it to the first child and intructed each of us to shake the bowl vigorously. By the time the last child (about 25th) handled it, it was completely solid. It was such a fun and delicious learning experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
AWESOME RECIPE (Great Butter) BUT.... Not cost effective!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Butter

See how easy it is to make fresh butter from scratch.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States