Homemade Blueberry Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
EXCELLENT!! Easy to make and tastes extra yummy. I added a pinch more cornstarch and almost 1/4 cup more water. Will use it on top of a slice of angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Schroeder-Baatz
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Auburn, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made this to use in another recipe, "Blueberry Crumble" from this site. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It's really simple and yummy I used mix berries instead turned out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was very good, but (made into a yogurt parfait like I did). It is very low in sugar and even with sweet blueberries is tasty, healthy, but honestly not sweet enough for a pie. Try it as a parfait, on frozen yogurt, on a dessert, and it will be excellent. I made it just for the fact that it had so little sugar compared to similar recipes. I was tempted to add additional water, but do not do that. The blueberries will cook down and make their own. I think fresh is a must with this recipes, so as to make the cornstarch work effectively without the excess water. I bought a large pack of blueberries at Sam's Club. I measured the package and it was 3 1/2 cups. So, I just made 1/4 of the recipe, which made enough for 2 large or 3 small parfaits or a blueberry sauce on other foods. 1/4 of the recipe still took 2 cups of blueberries. The full recipe takes 8. I layered it in a glass with Trader Joes Vanilla Bean yogurt and topped it off with a little lite whipped topping I sprayed on top. I thought it was as good, or better, in this combination, as any blueberry cheesecake I have had. Very creamy. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made a half batch to fill the middle of a tangy lemon and blueberry layer cake - perfect!! I did add 1 tbsp lemon juice at the end to add some zest to go along with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassandraE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it's always amazing! I fill crepes and top them with sour cream. It's simple and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was perfect! I only had frozen blueberries so I had to adjust the other ingredients some. The cinnamon really did the trick, but like someone else said it was a little bland. Blueberries can be that way. I didn't want to use any lemon so I added about a half teaspoon of salt and that woke it up. My pie was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Its a delicious and tasty dessert. It was simply to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Very simple to make and quite delicious. I used the filling for blueberry turnovers using puff pastry dough I had in the freezer. The blueberries I used were sweet to begin with so I could have reduced the sugar even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was tasty! I added a dash of lemon juice and a bit more water. Tasted great on a cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States