Homemade Blueberry Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was very good, but (made into a yogurt parfait like I did). It is very low in sugar and even with sweet blueberries is tasty, healthy, but honestly not sweet enough for a pie. Try it as a parfait, on frozen yogurt, on a dessert, and it will be excellent. I made it just for the fact that it had so little sugar compared to similar recipes. I was tempted to add additional water, but do not do that. The blueberries will cook down and make their own. I think fresh is a must with this recipes, so as to make the cornstarch work effectively without the excess water. I bought a large pack of blueberries at Sam's Club. I measured the package and it was 3 1/2 cups. So, I just made 1/4 of the recipe, which made enough for 2 large or 3 small parfaits or a blueberry sauce on other foods. 1/4 of the recipe still took 2 cups of blueberries. The full recipe takes 8. I layered it in a glass with Trader Joes Vanilla Bean yogurt and topped it off with a little lite whipped topping I sprayed on top. I thought it was as good, or better, in this combination, as any blueberry cheesecake I have had. Very creamy. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made a half batch to fill the middle of a tangy lemon and blueberry layer cake - perfect!! I did add 1 tbsp lemon juice at the end to add some zest to go along with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CassandraE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and it's always amazing! I fill crepes and top them with sour cream. It's simple and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was perfect! I only had frozen blueberries so I had to adjust the other ingredients some. The cinnamon really did the trick, but like someone else said it was a little bland. Blueberries can be that way. I didn't want to use any lemon so I added about a half teaspoon of salt and that woke it up. My pie was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Its a delicious and tasty dessert. It was simply to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Very simple to make and quite delicious. I used the filling for blueberry turnovers using puff pastry dough I had in the freezer. The blueberries I used were sweet to begin with so I could have reduced the sugar even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was tasty! I added a dash of lemon juice and a bit more water. Tasted great on a cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This IS easy and quick. I only had frozen blueberries, which seemed to work fine. The flavor is a little bland to me; I wonder if it is because I had to adjust serving size down pretty drastically due to number of berries on hand. After scrutinizing the flavor, I added a dash of vanilla but that didn't help. This may be one of those recipes where the flavor gets better as you let it cool and sit in fridge a day or two, like lasagna does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
WHAT NO LEMON? AWESOME RECIPE, THANK YOU. I MADE THIS SUGAR FREE USING 1/2 CUP SPLENDA. LOVE CINNAMON SO ADDED THAT AS WELL. USED AS A TOPPING WITH SUGAR FREE NO BAKE CHEESCAKE WITH GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST....YUM. KC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is quick and simple to throw together. I intended to use it as a topping for a cheesecake, but it got cloudy upon cooling. I ended up changing my plan as a result. I’ll be making some mini pies to use up the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States