Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I love these burgers. Let me tell you how to keep them from falling apart, though. First, you must rinse the black beans and dry them off before mashing them. Second, you must strain the onion, garlic and pepper mixture through a fine strainer to remove any excess water. Third, if you add 50% more bread crumbs, it will hold much better. Also, I freeze mine and grill them frozen. Doing this has keep my burgers intact and my mouth happy! Also, I always follow the spice/hot sauce measurments pretty well, and I do not find it too spicy at all, and I find black pepper to be spicy! Hope this helps with the loose burger issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Delicious and easy! I substituted red bell pepper for green and used rolled oats instead of bread crumbs. I reduced cumin to 1 tsp and used 2 eggs. Following the advice of others, I blended everything in the food processor, beginning with onions, peppers, and garlic, then oats, then eggs and spices, beans last. I chilled the mixture, then rolled (more like poured -- think thick muffin batter) onto waxed paper. I froze the burgers. To grill, I oiled some foil that I folded over burger. Perfect! My 13 yr old vegetarian daughter liked it better than store bought (me too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1725 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
One of the best dishes I made this month! You can substitute or add corn kernels to the burgers for more texture and flavor, but not necessary! Tastes very healthy since I baked them in the oven - no oil! This recipe made 4 good size patties. We ate them all up and I immediately made another batch to have for lunches. I made a chipotle mayo dressing which was exactly the touch it needed! (Some mayo and a dash of ranch dressing in a blender with two or three canned chipotle peppers to taste. GO EASY, they are extremely spicy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
If you love black beans, you'll love this recipe. My recommendation however, is to use whole-wheat Ritz crackers, instead of breadcrumbs. They add much more flavor. Also, with any recipe, I would fry one small pattie in some oil first to make sure that it will be to your taste in terms of seasoning before you cook the whole mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
634 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Okay, these are awesome. I hate the price of the supermarket veggie burgers and these are even better! I made the recipe exactly as directed and it was perfect. I don't have a food processor so I used my Pampered Chef chopper to finely mince the veggies. Unlike other reviewers, I had no problem getting the mixture to stick together—this may have been because I squeezed the excess water from the onions and peppers before adding them (I used pureed garlic). They formed up beautifully and didn't stick at all to a sprayed pan in the oven. I'm thinking of making a double batch, baking it, and freezing them once these first four patties are gone. They would be SO handy to have on hand for those nights you don't want to cook. I ate mine on the "Tasty Buns" recipe also found on this site. This recipe makes a large patty, which is the perfect size for the largish buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiny Cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Great recipe! Two eggs is the way to go, no falling apart and not dry. I used all ingredients but also used corn. I advise that you make sure to add salt and pepper and the spices to the bean mixture before adding eggs so you can adjust as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
473 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Mmmmm-so good we decided to freeze the rest of the batch for an easy, reheat meal during the week. I doubled the recipe and added 1/2 cup cooked brown rice with the breadcrumb step to give the burgers a little more fill and structure. This recipe had the meat eaters and vegetarians alike asking for seconds. One tip: put a little olive oil on your hands when shaping the patties to prevent sticking. (Also makes your cuticles nice and soft!)These are an instant classic with my frinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfgirl303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Fun to make! I have already made it twice in the past 3 weeks. I use eggbeaters instead of real eggs, and 1-1.5 eggs (1/4-3/8 cups) seems to form the perfect consistency. I also added cilantro and mushrooms for a nice added kick. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
The first time I made these seemed like a disaster. The mix was runny and could not be formed into anything, it was almost like soup. I froze it and baked it nontheless and it turned into surprisingly FANTASTIC burrito filling. I am on try number 2 now (we are having burritos again tonight) and the mixture was perfect, so it must have been me!! This time, I soaked and cooked my own fresh black beans . . . that may be what made all the difference. Try this recipe, it´s delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is DELICIOUS. I swear, it is wayyyy better than storebought! I don't have a grill, so I did things a bit differently than some of the other reviewers. I did let the beans dry a bit after rinsing them and tried to get most of the moisture out of the onion, red pepper, garlic and pinch of cilantro that I roughly pureed with my immersion blender. One can of beans wasn't enough, so after mixing everything together, I added half a can of organic refried black beans. I didn't have breadcrumbs so I added a half a cup of cooked short grain white rice and about 1/3 cup of flour. I greased some aluminum foil and baked them on each side for 10 mins as suggested. To crisp them up, I put them in a pan on the stove with a tad oil for a few minutes before serving. AWESOME served with a side of chipotle mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,003) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States