Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These were fun! I mixed everything in a food processor and let it sit out a little for the bread crumbs to soak up the water. The burgers fell apart the tiniest bit after baking them, but they were great. Pretty mushy, but very tasty. I made some extras to freeze, and look forward to enjoying them in the weeks to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
A little bland for my taste and so I would add a chipotle pepper or more seasonings and reduce cumin. I added brown rice to make it more substantial and hold together better as well as a little more bread crumbs (1/4 cup). A good base recipe to start with but modify to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This has become our go-to veggie burger recipe and we typically make it at least once a week! I like to add canned mushrooms, drained well and chopped, for a little extra flavor. They will hold together fine as long as you drain everything very thoroughly before mixing, and you can add some extra breadcrumbs if you're still having trouble. Delicious with some cheese melted on top. One of my most-used recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I really liked them, my husband didn't. Good texture, good taste, good appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniLee1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coudersport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. Usually as is, sometimes with half-ground oats instead of breadcrumbs. This time I diced the onion and bell pepper by hand. I cut 1/4 strips then squeezed with a paper towel before finishing the knife-work. This was the first time I have not needed more breadcrumbs/oats! I always try to wring out the liquid after processing, but it's pretty difficult to do. Will dice by hand from now on. Also, I dropped cumin to 3 tsp, as it is otherwise a bit much for my taste. Made this as the vegetarian option for friends at a cookout - rave reviews :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
this was yummie i made it for lunch and even ate it the next day i did have to add extra bread crumbs and and extra egg so it didn't fall apart on me but they turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
These burgers were delicious and easy to make. We will be making them again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Low sodium version to make it more heart healthy. I made it using no salt added beans, part green pepper and part red pepper, and a little more garlic. Since I used my blender to chop the vegetables they were slightly more juicy, so I needed a little extra bread crumbs. I used plain panko bread crumbs, also a lower sodium option. These turned out great, my husband took the left overs for lunch and this was his first "black bean burger". Also added so fresh sage. I doubled the recipe so I could freeze some burgers for the future. To keep the cholesterol low, instead of two eggs, I used whole egg + 1 egg white. I was able to get the sodium down to about 129 mg/burger (11 burgers from a double recipe). Paired nicely with roasted herb tri-colored potatoes and sauteed kale and mushrooms. No suffering on our low sodium diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
These burgers turned out pretty good. Although, I didn't use the exact measurement for the breadcrumbs (had to eyeball it since it wasn't getting sticky enough) and I think I'll add some different seasoning next time for a more flavorful kick. We added a slice of cheese and topped it off with some barbecue sauce (didn't have ketchup) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is probably the best veggie burger recipe I have ever tried. All the ingredients are staples in my pantry, and this is a much better route than a store bought, frozen burger. The only changes I made were as follows: I added: --2 Thai chilis instead of the chili powder --Soy Chorizo from Trader Joes to add a little extra dimension and flavor to the recipe --I doubled the garlic,because I believe there is no such thing as too much garlic. This recipe also freezes really well (you don't compromise the texture or flavor) in case you've made more than you can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States